diff options
| author | nfenwick <nfenwick@pglaf.org> | 2025-02-04 02:52:06 -0800 |
|---|---|---|
| committer | nfenwick <nfenwick@pglaf.org> | 2025-02-04 02:52:06 -0800 |
| commit | 48722bae0f2a0842170af9a2fa1e4c59717b5d9a (patch) | |
| tree | e9bf018f0ffab38ea0a92026197a5672e2274874 /old/62845-0.txt | |
| parent | d43e63ed235dcdbca9466d890f4a55ed9a82d0ec (diff) | |
Diffstat (limited to 'old/62845-0.txt')
| -rw-r--r-- | old/62845-0.txt | 2484 |
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 2484 deletions
diff --git a/old/62845-0.txt b/old/62845-0.txt deleted file mode 100644 index 1642540..0000000 --- a/old/62845-0.txt +++ /dev/null @@ -1,2484 +0,0 @@ -The Project Gutenberg EBook of Pilgrim Guide Book to Plymouth, -Massachusetts, by William F. Atwood - -This eBook is for the use of anyone anywhere in the United States and most -other parts of the world at no cost and with almost no restrictions -whatsoever. You may copy it, give it away or re-use it under the terms of -the Project Gutenberg License included with this eBook or online at -www.gutenberg.org. If you are not located in the United States, you'll have -to check the laws of the country where you are located before using this ebook. - -Title: Pilgrim Guide Book to Plymouth, Massachusetts - With a Brief Outline of The Pilgrim Migration and Settlement at Plymouth - -Author: William F. Atwood - -Release Date: August 4, 2020 [EBook #62845] - -Language: English - -Character set encoding: UTF-8 - -*** START OF THIS PROJECT GUTENBERG EBOOK PILGRIM GUIDE BOOK TO PLYMOUTH, MASS *** - - - - -Produced by Stephen Hutcheson and the Online Distributed -Proofreading Team at https://www.pgdp.net - - - - - - - - - - OFFICIAL PILGRIM - GUIDE BOOK - To Plymouth, Massachusetts - - - 25¢ - - [Illustration: HISTORIC PILGRIM PLYMOUTH - A GUIDE MAP SHOWING PRINCIPAL STREETS AND HISTORIC SHRINES] - - - - - _Pilgrim_ GUIDE Book - To - PLYMOUTH - MASSACHUSETTS - - - _With a Brief Outline of The Pilgrim Migration and Settlement at - Plymouth_ - - _By_ William Franklin Atwood - -“_What your fathers with so much difficulty attained, do not basely -relinquish._” - Inscription on gravestone of Gov. William Bradford on Burial Hill. - - Copyright, 1940, by PAUL W. BITTINGER, Plymouth, Mass. - All Rights Reserved. - Sixth Edition, May, 1957 - - [Illustration: Facsimile of original Seal of the Plymouth Colony. It - disappeared during the administration of Sir Edmund Andros, who, in - 1686 was sent by King James to rule over the Dominion of New - England. It has never been recovered.] - -Note: Dates used, except those in quotations, accord with the new style -calendar adopted by England in 1752, although having been in use in -Holland since 1583. - - * * * - - - PUBLISHER’S NOTE - -For those who may desire further information regarding the Pilgrims in -England and Holland, their motives and aspirations leading to the -migration and final settlement at Plymouth, reference is suggested to -The Pilgrim Story, of the Pilgrim Book Series, a condensed history from -the writings of Governor Bradford, Governor Winslow and other -authoritative sources, by William F. Atwood. - - * * * - -Cover design by Leo Schrieber, Plymouth, Mass. Cover photo from oil -painting in Pilgrim Hall depicting Departure of Pilgrims from -Delfthaven. Illustration, inside front cover, scene of two modern -Pilgrim Misses from annual Thanksgiving Pageant held in Plymouth -Memorial Building on Thanksgiving Day. - - Published by - THE MEMORIAL PRESS - Plymouth, Mass. - - This publication is one in the Pilgrim Book Series. - - - - - CONTENTS - - - Page - Brewster Garden 33 - Brewster Spring 34 - Burial Hill 16 - Old Fort 18 - Grave of William Bradford 21 - Site of Watch Tower 17 - Old Graves 19 - Cole’s Hill 40 - Court House 6 - Edward Winslow House 44 - Harlow House 61 - Howland House 59 - Industries 6 - Kendall Holmes House 62 - Leyden Street 32 - Massasoit Statue 43 - Mayflower Passengers 65 - Major John Bradford House 7 - Memorial Fountain 40 - Memorial Seat 42 - Morton Park 57 - National Monument to Forefathers 9 - Old Colony Club 5 - Pilgrim Hall 49 - Pilgrim Maiden 34 - Pilgrim Society 55 - Plimoth Plantation 13 - Plymouth Rock 37 - Plymouth Memorial Building 6 - Postoffice 6 - Registry of Deeds 47 - Sarcophagus 41 - Sandwich Street 60 - Sparrow House 57 - Standish Guards 6 - Summer Street 57 - Tabitha Plasket House 48 - Training Green 60 - The Compact 70 - Town Square and Churches 29 - Town Brook 32 - Watson’s Hill 56 - - [Illustration: CARVER AND NORTH STREETS, LOOKING TOWARD SHIRLEY - SQUARE—North Street was laid out before 1633, and has been variously - called, in old deeds, New Street, Queen Street, North Street, and - Howland Street. Carver Street, once part of North, runs around - Cole’s Hill, and connects with Leyden, oldest Plymouth street.] - - - - - PLYMOUTH—THE TOWN - - - [Illustration: {Illustrated capital}] - -The Town of Plymouth, made famous as the permanent settlement of the -Pilgrims, is the county seat of Plymouth County in southeastern -Massachusetts. It is 37 miles southeast of Boston and is reached by -rail, and by Routes north via the Old Colony Division of the N. Y., N. -H. & H. R. R., and by automobile over routes No. 3 and No. 3A. It -overlooks Cape Cod Bay and a well protected harbor. Its year ’round -population is approximately 14,000. It has an area of 108 square miles, -the largest in the State. - -In addition to its historical association and its old records, among -which one may browse at pleasure, the town has a fine public school -system, public library, many churches, an excellent water system, -several banks and theatres, an adequate fire and police department, a -modernized hospital and high quality of public service. There are fine -bathing beaches and recreational centers, hotels and accommodation for -tourists. - -Fraternal organizations are numerous. The Old Colony Club, organized -1769, the oldest social organization in America, is located on Court -Street, opposite the Court House. Other active societies are the -Plymouth Woman’s Club, the Plymouth Antiquarian Society, the Cordage -Men’s Club, the Plymouth Country Club, the Girls’ Club, the Boys’ Club, -the New Century Club, and the Manomet Village Club. - -The Plymouth County Court House occupies a commanding position facing -Court Street with the Registry of Deeds near at hand on North Russell -Street and easily accessible to visitors. A new Federal Post Office -Building stands at the historic corner of Leyden and Main Streets. A -commodious armory on Court Street accommodates the National Guard. At -one time this building was the headquarters of the Standish Guards, the -local militia company organized and chartered in 1818. - -Opposite the armory is Plymouth’s Memorial Building, dedicated in 1926 -to the men of Plymouth who served in all the wars in which the country -has been engaged. It has a large hall with a seating capacity of 2000 -and was built at a cost of $300,000. This building is a few steps north -of Pilgrim Hall, that sacred depository of Pilgrimiana, a mecca for -modern day Pilgrims, visited every year by thousands from the world -over. - -The town has diversified industries. Its mills and factories are devoted -principally to the production of high grade woolens, cordage, tacks and -rivets, and zinc products. - - [Illustration: AN ISLAND IN ONE OF PLYMOUTH’S MANY PONDS] - -Over 300 ponds of sparkling clear water lie within the town’s -boundaries, and these together with its woodlands offer almost unlimited -facilities for hunting and fishing, while salt water fishing is equally -available. - -Yes, Plymouth has much to offer as a place for permanent residence and -as a summer resort. - -The door is open and the word is _Welcome_. - -Approaching Plymouth from the north and passing through Kingston, it is -both convenient and of interest to visit the Major John Bradford House. -This house stands on a knoll on Landing Road overlooking Jones River and -the marshes. It was built in 1674 by Major John Bradford, son of Major -William Bradford, Deputy Governor and Grandson of Governor William -Bradford. - -_Legend:_ - -During the King Philip War this house was partially burned while Major -Bradford was moving his family to a place of safety. Upon his return -Indians were seen surrounding the house, one of whom the Major shot -while he was in the act of warning his comrades of the approach of the -whites. This Indian, while wounded, crawled behind a fallen tree and -some years later told Major Bradford of the circumstances of his escape, -showing at the same time the bullet wound in his side received at the -time. - -Another fact of interest is that this house gave shelter for something -like twenty-five years to the now famous “History of Plimouth -Plantation,” sometimes spoken of as the “Bradford History” written by -Governor Bradford and preserved in the State House in Boston. - -Entering Plymouth through Court Street and passing the plant of the -Plymouth Cordage Company, one comes to another old house. This house is -known as the William Crowe House. It is located on the east side of the -highway and was probably built in 1664 as in that year William Crowe -married Hannah, daughter of the first Josiah Winslow. A deed dated 1665 -from Francis Billington to William Crowe refers to the estate “on which -Mr. Crowe now lives.” This undoubtedly establishes the house as one of -the very oldest of Plymouth’s old houses. - -Mr. Crowe’s widow married John Sturtevant. Her daughter Hannah -Sturtevant married Josiah Cotton, a grandson of Rev. John Cotton. In -1709 Mr. Cotton became the owner, and in 1723 built the two-story -addition. - -Proceeding south through Court Street and turning west at Allerton or -Cushman Street brings one to the National Monument of the Forefathers. - -... This monument, towering high in its massive splendor, occupies a -commanding position overlooking the town and harbor, with Duxbury, -Clark’s Island, the Saquish and the Gurnet in the background. - -The central figure is _Faith_, which stands on the main pedestal, one -foot resting on a replica of Plymouth Rock. In the left hand is a Bible, -while the right hand points heavenward. The whole attitude is symbolic -of faith in a divine power, as the smaller statues below are -representative of the principles enunciated by the Pilgrims themselves. - -The plan of the base is octagonal. There are four protruding wings, on -each of which is a figure seated. One representing Morality holding the -decalogue in the left hand and the scroll of Revelation in the right. On -the one side is a Prophet and on the other the Evangelists. - -On the next pedestal is the figure representing Law with Justice on one -side and Mercy on the other, symbolizing justice tempered with mercy. -Education has on the one hand the wisdom of maturity and on the other -Youth following experience. The fourth figure represents Freedom, a -consequence of which is peace, represented on the one hand, while on the -other is represented the overthrow of tyranny. - -The main pedestal has four polished faces, on two of which are inscribed -the names of the Mayflower Pilgrims, while another bears the inscription -“National Monument to the Forefathers. Erected by a grateful people in -remembrance of their labors, sacrifices and sufferings for the cause of -civil and religious liberty.” There is one panel left for future use. - - - INTERESTING FACTS ABOUT THE MONUMENT - - Largest granite statue in the world. - Designed by Hammatt Billings. - Built of Maine granite. - Cost $150,000. - Statue of Faith cost $31,300; was given by late Gov. Oliver Ames. - Other contributors: United States Government, States of - Massachusetts and Connecticut, together with 11,000 - individuals of this and other countries. - Corner stone laid August 1, 1859. - Monument dedicated on August 1, 1889. - Height from ground to top of head, 81 feet. - Outstretched arm measures, from shoulder to elbow, 10 feet, 1½ inches; - from elbow to tip of finger, 9 feet, 9 inches; total length of - arm, 19 feet, 10½ inches. - Circumference of head at forehead, 13 feet, 7 inches. - Circumference of left arm below sleeve, 6 feet, 10 inches. - Length of finger pointing upward, 2 feet, 1 inch. - Circumference of finger, 1 foot, 8½ inches. - Circumference of thumb, 1 foot, 8½ inches. - Length of nose, 1 foot, 4 inches. - 216 times life-size. - Weight, 180 tons. - - [Illustration: JOHN ALDEN HOUSE, 1653, DUXBURY - - John Alden married Priscilla Mullins in 1622. They first lived in a - log house below Burial Hill where their first three children were - born. The family later moved to Duxbury where they built and - occupied the present house. This house is open to visitors.] - - [Illustration: A CUTAWAY DRAWING of the original Mayflower by John - Seamans of Weymouth, Mass., from plans drawn by William A. Baker, - Hingham marine architect and authority on ancient ships.] - - KEY TO DRAWING - 1 Main Deck - 2 Galley - 3 Upper Deck - 4 Main Hatch - 5 Forecastle - 6 Waist - 7 Bosun’s Stores - 8 Shallop - 9 Sail Store - 10 Crew’s Quarters - 11 Main Hold - 12 Cargo - 13 General Stores - 14 Water Barrels - 15 Spirits - 16 Store - 17 Cabins - 18 Radio Room—A radio for the crossing was required by law. - 19 Chart House - 20 Steering Position - 21 Gun Port - 22 Main Deck - 23 Upper Deck - 24 Quarter Deck - 25 Poop Deck - 26 Beak - 27 Bowsprit - 28 Foretop - 29 Maintop - 30 Mizzenmast - 31 Mainmast - 32 Foremast - - - - - PLIMOTH PLANTATION—MAYFLOWER II - - - [Illustration: {Illustrated capital}] - -On a 100-acre tract, formerly part of the beautiful Hornblower estate, a -replica of the Pilgrim First Street (now Leyden Street) with its -original nineteen thatched dwellings is being erected under the auspices -of Plimoth Plantation, Inc. When complete the project will have cost an -estimated million dollars. - -Nearby, in a bend in the Eel River, is the permanent anchorage of the -Mayflower II, an exact reproduction of the original Pilgrim ship, built -and financed by popular subscription in England. - -The idea of reproducing a full-size, 92-foot 180-ton Mayflower replica -was conceived during the North African fighting in World War II by a -Londoner, Warwick Charlton. His dream was to memorialize the common -heritage of English-speaking peoples, and to express his country’s -gratitude for American aid in times of great stress. - -Mayflower II was constructed of English oak and Oregon pine at an -ancient shipyard in Brixham, Devon, using plans drawn up, after five -years of research, by William A. Baker, shipyard executive with -Bethlehem Steel. More than a quarter million English people contributed -shillings and pence to the Project Mayflower fund. - - [Illustration: PLIMOTH PLANTATION IN SOUTH PLYMOUTH - This is how the replica of the original Pilgrim settlement will look - when finished. - Mayflower II is shown at its permanent anchorage in lower left - center.] - - Museum - Parking - Fort - Gardens - Trading Post - Indian Village - Mayflower - Grist Mill-Jenney - Eel River Pond - To the Ocean - -The Pilgrim village is located on a park-like site sloping up from Eel -River. When complete it will include a trading post, grist mill, Indian -village, and a fort meeting house, as well as dwellings identical with -those occupied by Governor Bradford, Elder Brewster, Myles Standish, -John Alden, and the rest. The work is being supervised by Charles R. -Strickland, Plimoth Plantation architect. - -The Plantation homes are designed to have the vertical planked siding, -thatched roofs, and sheepskin parchment windows of Tudor times. They are -being furnished with trestle tables, benches, trundle beds, sea chests, -and the like. Women in costume working at old looms will weave -linsey-woolsey, and dye it with butternut hull and hemlock bark -decoctions. - -Mayflower II comes to its permanent berth in the Eel River after an -Atlantic crossing, and exhibitions at New York and elsewhere, under the -command of Alan Villiers, of grain-ship fame. The ship will symbolize -the wellsprings of American democracy. It will vividly recall the ideas -forever shrined in the Compact, whereby the little company of dissenters -bound themselves to live together by the law and under God. - -All America will want to see how their nation was cradled, and so more -keenly appreciate the noble tradition to which they are heir. - - - - - BURIAL HILL - - - [Illustration: CANNON OF THE PILGRIM ERA ON BURIAL HILL] - - [Illustration: {Illustrated capital}] - -Leaving the Monument and passing south through Allerton Street, crossing -Samoset Street, and continuing straight over the hill to the Cornish and -Burton Schools, we arrive at the northwest entrance to the old burial -ground. Rising 165 feet above sea level this hill commands a fine view -of the harbor and bay from Kingston and Duxbury on the north to the Pine -Hills on the south. At the base of the hill is Town Square where in the -immediate foreground rise the spires of the First Church (Unitarian) and -the Church of the Pilgrimage, with Leyden Street leading to the harbor -beyond. - - [Illustration: Site of the - Watch Tower - On Burial Hill - - Burial Hill, once called “Fort Hill,” is one of the most historic - and beautiful spots in Pilgrim Plymouth. There are convenient seats - under the shady trees where one can rest and look out over Plymouth - Harbor and Cape Cod Bay. Here on the “Hill” are the graves of the - early colonists, the site of the Watch Tower, the Replica of the - Powder House, the site of the “Fort.” People come here from all over - the world to search for the graves of their ancestors. The guide - map, giving location of all the graves, which is included in the - Pilgrim Book of Burial Hill and Its Epitaphs, is invaluable to those - who wish to get the most out of their visit to Pilgrim Plymouth. In - leaving Burial Hill by the Town Square entrance, note the view down - Leyden Street, first street in New England, and remember that down - this same path once walked the Pilgrims of Plymouth.] - - [Illustration: PLYMOUTH HARBOR AND CHURCH OF THE PILGRIMAGE - - From Burial Hill, where the early graves are located and where the - Fort and Watch Tower and Powder House were built by the Pilgrims] - -From this vantage, and before the day of steam trawlers, Plymouthians -have viewed the fleet of white-winged mackerel vessels as they sailed to -and fro within easy vision against a background of blue sea. - -On clear days the sand dunes of Cape Cod as well as Provincetown may be -seen. - -It was on this hill that the Pilgrims built their fort in 1622 and a -watch tower in 1643 and another and larger fort during the King Philip -War in 1675 as a defence against Indian attack. - -There is no record of its first use as a burial ground. There are six -stones bearing dates of the 17th century, the oldest that of Edward Grey -(1681). It is known that William Bradford died in 1657 and a monument -erected in 1825 bears evidence to that fact. Also that John Howland died -in 1672 and his present stone was erected (circa) 1850. It is presumable -that there were many burials here prior to these dates, although the -first burials were on Cole’s Hill just above the shore. - - - A TRIBUTE IN VERSE FROM PILGRIM PLYMOUTH - - Oft’ have I stood on Plymouth’s sacred hill - That overlooks both harbor and the town; - Its first laid street, a Pilgrim mecca still, - Steeped in historic precept and renown. - Where bay in iridescence greets the eye, - Flecked by ocean breeze and white-winged sail. - While in the foreground looking toward the sky - Are silent emblems of a past travail. - Hallowed the ground whereon they humbly dwelt, - Where now in honor sleep our reverend sires; - Where once in life they oft’ devoutly knelt - And asked for guidance only faith inspires. - What wealth of legend, yea, what wealth of lore, - Abounds along this tranquil Pilgrim shore! - -The oldest stones in order of dates on the hill are those of: - - Edward Grey 1681 - William Crowe 1683-4 - Hannah Clark 1687 - Thomas Cushman 1691 - Thomas Clark 1697 - The children of John and Josiah Cotton 1699 - The stone of Nathaniel Thomas 1697 - - [Illustration: ONE OF MANY OLD STONES ON BURIAL HILL] - -There is a doubt concerning the last named as the inscription is now -illegible, but his death is supposed to have occurred in 1697. - -Near the northwest entrance through which we entered is the replica of -the old Powder House built in 1770 and later demolished. The present -structure was a gift of the Massachusetts Society of the Sons of the -American Revolution. - -Burial Hill was well chosen as the site of the first fort. As it was -easily approachable from First Street (now Leyden) and commanded the -surrounding territory for some distance in all directions, it served as -an excellent defense against attack by Indians. The locations of the -fort and watch tower are marked by appropriately inscribed tablets. - -But a few steps away to the north is the grave of Gov. William Bradford -(numbered 32) over which stands a marble shaft erected in 1825, bearing -the Latin inscription, the free translation of which is: “What our -Fathers with so much difficulty attained, do not basely relinquish.” - -The inscription on the south side reads: - - H. I. William Bradford of Austerfield, Yorkshire, England. Was the son - of William and Alice Bradford. He was Governor of Plymouth Colony from - 1621 to 1633, 1635 to 1637, 1639 to 1643, 1645 to 1657. - -The inscription on the north side follows: - - Under this stone rest the ashes of William Bradford, a zealous Puritan - and sincere Christian Gov. of Ply. Col. from 1621 to 1657, (the year - he died, aged 69) except 5 yrs. which he declined. - -There is also a text in Hebrew, now almost obliterated, which has been -translated, - - “Let the right hand of the Lord awake.” - -Descendants of Governor William Bradford are buried in the immediate -vicinity. - -No. 33—Major William Bradford, Dep. Gov. of Plymouth Colony, and a son -of Gov. Bradford. The inscription on this stone is as follows: - - Here lyes ye body of ye honorable Major William Bradford who expired - Feb’ ye 20th. 1703-4 aged 79 years. - - He lived long, but still was doing good, - And in his country’s service lost much blood, - And a life well spent, he’s now at rest, - His very name and memory is blest. - -At the grave of Joseph Bradford, another son, the inscription on the -stone reads as follows: - - Here lyes ye body of Joseph Bradford, son of the late Honorable - William Bradford, Esq., Governor of Plymouth Colony, who departed this - life July the 10th, in the eighty-fifth year of his age. - -No. 35—Stone over the grave of John Howland, the last of the Mayflower -passengers who lived in Plymouth. The inscription on this stone reads as -follows: - - Here ended the Pilgrimage of John Howland, who died February 23, - 1672-3 aged above 80 years. He married Elizabeth, daughter of John - Tilley, who came with him in the Mayflower Dec. 1620. From them are - descended a numerous posterity. - - “He was a godly man and an ancient professor in the wayes of Christ. - Hee was one of the first comers into this land and was the last man - that was left of those that came over in the Shipp called the - Mayflower that lived in Plymouth.” (Plymouth Records.) - -No. 44—Stone at grave of William Crowe bearing dates 1683-84. - - For complete story of Burial Hill and detailed guide map showing name - and location of all the graves the reader is referred to The Pilgrim - Guide to Burial Hill and Its Epitaphs, available at most Plymouth - stores. The map is indispensable in locating the graves. - -No. 40—Stone to Thomas Clark 1697. -Stone to Hannah Clark 1697. - -Near the stone of Thomas Clark is stone to Nathaniel Clark, his son. The -latter was a councilor to Sir Edward Andros, Governor of New England. - -No. 38—Stone to John Cotton 1699. - -Graves of the Cottons. Three sons of Rev. John Cotton and seven sons of -Josiah Cotton. - -The Cushman gravestone 1691. This noted gravestone is one of the six -bearing date in the seventeenth century. This ancient landmark was -removed by the descendants of Elder Thomas Cushman to make room as they -say “for a more enduring memorial.” - -The Cushman monument on the north side of the hill was erected in 1858 -in memory of Robert Cushman, his wife Mary, and Thomas Cushman, the -latter for many years a ruling elder in the First Church. - -The foregoing are the oldest stones on the hill. - -Others are: No. 31—Thomas Faunce 1646-1745. Elder First Church -1699-1745. Town Clerk 1685-1723. - -No. 36 is the grave of Nathaniel Jackson. The stone is the oldest -Masonic stone on the hill. It is dated 1743. - -No. 37—Stone over the grave of Francis LeBaron 1704. The “Nameless -Nobleman.” - -No. 41—Grave of sailors from brig Gen. Arnold who perished in Plymouth -Harbor. James Magee of Boston was the unfortunate commander of this -ill-fated ship. The site is marked by a monument erected through the -generosity of Stephen Gale of Portland, Maine. This is on the west side -of the hill. - -No. 42—Tabitha Plasket, June 10, 1807. (Epitaph on following page). - -No. 43—Gen. James Warren lot. Patriot and Soldier. - -No. 45—Site of fort built in 1622; the lower part was used for a church; -also fort built in 1675—100 ft. square with palisades 10½ ft. high. - -There are many peculiar epitaphs, some in prose and some in verse, and -expressive of about every shade and degree of sentiment. A few of these -follow: - -(Blue stone, slate. Top and right-hand corner gone) Capt. Ellis Brews—— -and Nancy —— wife died Dec. 13, 189— aged —4 years (where lines appear -letters and figures are obliterated). The name, however, is Brewster, -and originally read—Son of: - - “He listen’d for a while to hear - Our mortal griefs then turned his ear - To angel harps and songs and cried - To join their notes celestial sigh’d and dyed.” - -(Low blue slate. Sound and compact. Symbol). In memory of Frederic, son -of Mr. Thomas Jackson and Mrs. Lucy, his wife who died March 15, 1788, -aged 1 year and 5 days. - - O! happy Probationer! accepted, without being exercised!—It was thy - peculiar Privilege not to feel the slightest of these Evils, which - oppress thy surviving kindred. - -(Blue slate; pyramidal; good condition. At top bust of female under -curtain drapery. The epitaph is from Young’s Night Thoughts, -“Narcissa.”) - -Fanny Crombie, daughter of Mr. Calvin Crombie and Mrs. Naomi, his wife. -Departed this life June 25th, 1804, in the 8th year of her age. - - As young as beautiful and soft as young - And gay as soft and innocent as gay. - -Note: In quoting these epitaphs the writer has referred to book compiled - in 1894 by the late Benjamin Drew of Plymouth. - -(Blue slate. Good condition. Weeping willow and urn.) - -To the memory of ISAAC COAL, son of Mr. Isaac Coal and Mrs. Sarah, his -wife, who died Aug. 28, 1825, in the 17th year of his age. - - Friends and Physicians could not save - His mortal body from the grave - Nor can the grave confine him here - When CHRIST shall call him to appear. - -(Blue slate. Good condition. Weeping willow and urn). - -In memory of Mrs. Tabitha Plasket, who died June 10, 1807, aged 64 -years. - - Adieu vain world I have seen enough of thee - And I am careless what thou say’st of me - Thy smiles I wish not; - Nor the frowns I fear - I am now at rest my head lies quiet here. - -(Stone of blue slate. Moss grown. Defaced. Cleft Broken Symbol.) - - —ere lyes Buried—body of Mrs. Sarah Atwood, wife of Deacon John —— - died Jan. ye 22d 1725 in ye 37th year of her age. - -(Purplish blue slate. Nearly covered with moss. Symbol surrounded with -blossoms.) - -The memory of the Just is Blessed. - - Here lyes the Body of Mr. John Atwood who died on the 6th of August A - D 1754 AEtatis 70 years. He was a Man of Piety & Religion Adorned with - every Christian grace & virtue & therefore well qualified for ye - office of a Deacon which he discharged in ye first Church of Christ in - this Town for about 40 Years with Honesty & uprightness and in the - Course of his Life adorned the Doctrine of His Saviour by a well - ordered Conversation. - -Some are truly inspirational as shown by the following: - -(White marble, fair condition, Urn.) - - Patience C. Holmes, Daug. of Nathan and Ruth Holmes. Died April 1, - 1845, in her 24 y’r. - - “Shed not for her the bitter tear - Nor give the heart to vain regret, - ’Tis but the casket that lies here; - The gem that fill’d it sparkles yet.” - -Monument - - In memory of Seventy two seamen who perished in Plymouth harbour on - the 26 and 27 days of December 1778, on board the private armed Brig, - Gen. Arnold, of twenty guns, James Magee of Boston, Commander, sixty - of whom were buried on this spot. - -(On the northwesterly side.) - -Capt. James Magee died in Roxbury, February 4, 1801; aged 51 years. - -Note: This monument was erected by Stephen Gale of Portland, Maine, a - stranger to them, as a memorial to their sufferings and death. - -One of the most recent burials here was that of Judge Thomas Russell who -was buried here at his special request. - -Judge Russell was a native of Plymouth, the son of Thomas and Mary Ann -(Goodwin) Russell. He was a noted jurist, was appointed by President -Grant United States Minister to Venezuela and was President of the -Pilgrim Society on the occasion of General Grant’s visit to Plymouth. -His stone of native granite bears the inscription: Thomas Russell, born -Sept. 26, 1825, Died Feb. 9, 1887. - -The brass cannons shown above are on the east side of Burial Hill near -the site of the old fort. They were presented to the Town of Plymouth by -the British Government as an expression of Good Will during the -Tercentenary period and were transmitted through the Ancient and -Honourable Artillery Company of London to the Ancient and Honorable -Artillery Company of Massachusetts. On the right is a “Minion.” On the -left a “Sakeret,” both of the mid-16th century era. They were formerly -in the collection of the British National Artillery Museum and are -similar to the cannons mounted on the first fort to protect the colony -from attack of Indians. - - [Illustration: PILGRIMS PROGRESS, presented each Friday in August by - the Plymouth Antiquarian Society. This is a colorful event, - impressive and inspirational in its simplicity.] - - - - - TOWN SQUARE AND CHURCHES - - -Leaving the hill at the southeast slope and following down the terraced -brick and granite walk, we step into Town Square. This is the logical -center of the town and it may well be said, for generations the seat of -government with the Town House on the south side, bearing its -descriptive tablet. Just ahead is the first street leading to the water -and reaching to the north is Main Street. - -Let us here face about. As we look up the square we face the First -Church (Unitarian), so called by virtue of its succession of unbroken -records, the oldest volume of which may be seen in Pilgrim Hall. This -church was dedicated on Dec. 21, 1899. Its arched portal is an elaborate -copy of the portal of the church at Austerfield, England, in which Gov. -Bradford was christened. A tablet near the entrance bears the following -inscription: - - The Church of Scrooby, Leyden, and the Mayflower gathered on this - hillside in 1620, has ever since preserved unbroken records and - maintained a continuous ministry, its first covenant being still the - basis of its fellowship. In reverent memory of its Pilgrim founders - this fifth meeting house was erected A. D. MDCCCXCVII. - -At the east end of the church is a memorial window representing John -Robinson delivering his farewell address to the Pilgrims. This window is -an artistic masterpiece. It was designed by Edward P. Sperry and since -its installation it has been an object of much interest to visitors to -Plymouth. Numerous other windows are commemorative of historic events. - -The wood church of Gothic design occupying this site previous to -erection of the present edifice, was built in 1830 and was destroyed by -fire on Nov. 22, 1892. - -On the right of the square is the Congregational Church, or Church of -the Pilgrimage, erected in 1840, on which is a tablet with the following -inscription: - - This tablet is inscribed in grateful memory of the Pilgrims and of - their successors who, at the time of the Unitarian controversy in - 1801, adhered to the belief of the Fathers, and on the basis of the - original creed and covenant perpetuated, at great sacrifice, in the - Church of the Pilgrimage, the evangelical faith and fellowship of the - Church of Scrooby, Leyden, and the “Mayflower” organized in England in - 1606. - -The first meeting house was erected in 1637 near the Gov. Bradford -House. This building contained a bell, as did the more pretentious -building erected in 1683 with its diamond leaded windows, Gothic roof, -etc. In 1744 still another place of worship was erected nearer the site -of the present First Church, and this remained until 1830, when the -church that preceded the present church was built. - -Considering Town Square as a focal point, there are several divergent -routes one may take, each contributing its legacy of historical -interest. - - [Illustration: TOWN SQUARE—Old view. Looking down Church Lane. - Leyden Street (first street) and ocean in distance.] - - - - - LEYDEN STREET - - -Let us now leave Town Square and wend our way along Leyden Street, so -named in 1823, originally called First Street and later Great and Broad -Street. On the right as we move easterly toward the water we see, on the -site of the Elder Brewster homestead, the new Federal Building, in which -is located the Customs House and Post Office. This is on the corner of -Leyden Street and Main Street Extension, the latter extending over Town -Brook referred to in Bradford’s History as “a very sweete brooke,” and -which runs parallel with Leyden Street, emptying into the harbor just -below. - - [Illustration: OLD LEYDEN STREET HOUSES - - With gardens bordering the brook, popularly called, after the Dutch, - “Meersteads”] - - [Illustration: PILGRIM MAID AND POOL - Brewster Gardens] - - - - - BREWSTER GARDENS - A BEAUTY SPOT - - - [Illustration: {Illustrated capital}] - -A spot both picturesque and historical lies to the south of Leyden -Street bordering Town Brook. It covers land first allotted to William -Brewster, John Goodman and Peter Brown in the original lay-out. The -gardens in the rear extended downwards to the brook. - -In the early days the estuary at the mouth of the stream was -sufficiently wide and deep at high tide to permit the passing of fishing -boats to what is now the third bridge. Many small craft “tied up” here -during the winter months and periods of bad weather. Later a dam was -built at the mouth of the stream and for generations water extended over -an area of several acres. - -The reclamation of this area was a part of the Tercentenary program. It -was drained and graded, and the brook now follows its natural course -through the park, now known as Brewster Gardens. The old English or -Dutch gardens in the rear of the houses fronting on Leyden Street -present a decided contrast. - -Near the brook stands Henry H. Kitson’s statue of the Pilgrim Maiden -mounted upon a native boulder and impressive in its sublimity. It seems -to symbolize the courage and determination with which the adversities -confronting the colonists were met and overcome. It was presented to the -town by the National Society of New England Women, and bears the -inscription—“To those intrepid English women, whose courage, fortitude -and devotion brought a new nation into being, this statue of the Pilgrim -Maiden is dedicated.” - -Close at hand is the spring that supplied “sweete water” in the days of -the Pilgrims. Water from this spring has been piped to the street above -and supplies a drinking fountain near the Post Office. - -A flight of stone steps designed by Fletcher Steele leads to this park. - -Another memorial not to be overlooked is the stone seat also designed by -Fletcher Steele and presented to the town by the National Society of -Daughters of the American Colonists who came in the ship Ann in 1623. - - [Illustration: PLYMOUTH POST OFFICE (Early Photo) - Corner Leyden Street—First Street in New England] - -Much of the credit for reclaiming this area so closely associated with -the lives of the Pilgrims and developing this beautiful park is due Mrs. -William H. Forbes of Milton whose father, Ralph Waldo Emerson, married -Miss Lidian Jackson, daughter of Charles Jackson, in the old Winslow -House shown on another page. This park is reached from both Water Street -and Main Street Extension. - -The points of greatest historical interest are so closely related in -regard to location that to attempt to prescribe a definite route would -be extremely difficult. - -The most important points of interest are within easy walking distance. -As a suggestion, however, one might follow Water Street from Brewster -Gardens north and find the historic Rock within a two minutes’ walk. - -During the Tercentenary celebration many changes were made in this -section. The old wharves and buildings that had characterized this spot -for generations, are gone and the immediate surroundings have been -converted into a state reservation. It is a ground made sacred to the -memory of the Pilgrims as is evidenced by the many memorials and markers -in the vicinity, gifts of the various historical societies throughout -the country. - - [Illustration: PERISTYLE OVER PLYMOUTH ROCK] - - - - - PLYMOUTH ROCK - - - [Illustration: {Illustrated capital}] - -The magnificent peristyle shown here was designed by the architects -McKim, Mead & White and was a gift of the National Society of the -Colonial Dames of America on the 300th anniversary of the Landing of the -Pilgrims. - -It encloses the historic “Rock” on which the Pilgrims first set foot. -The foundation wall is open on the water side allowing the free wash of -the flood tides around the rock as it lies in its original bed. - - [Illustration: PLYMOUTH ROCK—A NATIONAL SHRINE] - -Plymouth Rock, emblematic and suggestive of the Pilgrim associations has -been viewed by countless thousands of people, not only from our own -states, but the world over. It has been photographed, painted, and -reproduced in bronze. On this rock the Pilgrims first stepped foot, -December 21st, 1620. To those who may be prone to scepticism it can be -stated that its interesting history has been handed down from generation -to generation from Elder Thomas Faunce, who was born in Plymouth in -1647, and who died in 1746, aged 99 years. A few years before his death, -at a time when removal or covering up of the rock was under -contemplation, he made vigorous protest at what he termed the -desecration of an object of deep veneration, stating that his father, -John Faunce, who came over in the Ann in 1623, had told him that it was -on that rock that the forefathers landed, as stated by them to him. - -It is further possible that an early age some of the eldest of the -Mayflower passengers may have imparted this information to Elder Faunce -directly. During the war of the Revolution, an attempt was made to -remove the rock to Town Square, there to be viewed as an emblem of -liberty, civic and religious. In the operation of lifting, the upper -portion split away, leaving the base in its original bed. This top -portion was, however, transferred to the square, where it remained until -1834, when it was taken to Pilgrim Hall and placed within an iron fence -at the left of the entrance. In 1880 it was moved back and cemented to -its original base. - -In the vicinity where the Rock now rests there were once many wharves -and industrial enterprises. Plymouth was then an active and busy seaport -but all this was changed when the Commonwealth of Massachusetts bought -this land in 1920 and made it into a reservation. - -The memorial pictured below, standing close to the Rock and Peristyle, -is symbolic of the part played by the women of the Plymouth Colony in -shaping the destinies of this, the first permanent settlement. Their -courage and fortitude fill a glorious page in the annals of American -colonization. - - [Illustration: MEMORIAL FOUNTAIN - By C. T. Jennewein - - “Erected by the National Society Daughters of the American - Revolution in Memory of the Heroic Women of the Mayflower - 1620-1920.”] - - - - - COLE’S HILL - - - [Illustration: {Illustrated capital}] - -Rising directly back of the landing place is Cole’s Hill, named after -James Cole who settled here in 1633 and who died in Plymouth in 1692. -Here lie those who died the first fateful winter. The hardships of the -voyage and the lack of proper accommodations after the landing developed -much sickness, which made frightful inroads on the little colony, their -number being reduced one-half during the first few months, and those -remaining being “scarce able to bury the dead.” - - [Illustration: SARCOPHAGUS—COLE’S HILL] - -They were reduced so fast and to such an extent that it was deemed wise -to conceal the graves, so they planted corn that Indians might remain in -ignorance of their great losses. At various times in the process of -excavating, human remains have been uncovered. These were carefully -re-interred and a granite slab bearing an appropriate inscription now -marks the spot and conveys to the visitor a mute attest to the -sacrifices of those who contributed their part in shaping the destinies -of our country. - -Remains that were found during excavations for a water main on Carver -Street in 1855 were, upon their identification as those of the Caucasian -race as distinguished from the native Indians, placed in a vault on -Burial Hill. Later, upon completion of the canopy over Plymouth Rock in -1867, they were placed in a receptacle in the top of that memorial. They -now repose in the Sarcophagus erected under the direction and at the -expense of the General Society of Mayflower Descendants. - -During the Revolutionary War and the War of 1812 batteries were -implanted on the brow of the hill to protect the town from approach by -water. - -A memorial seat on Cole’s Hill was erected in 1917 by the descendants -and to the memory of James Cole, born in London, England, 1600. Died -Plymouth, 1692. First settled on Cole’s Hill, 1633. A soldier in Pequot -War, 1637. - -Occupying a commanding position on Cole’s Hill is the statue of -Massasoit, chief of the Wampanoags and friend of the colonists. - -It was done in bronze by Cyrus Dallin and is mounted upon a native -boulder with a tablet bearing the following inscription: - - Massasoit - Great Sachem - of the - Wampanoags - Protector and - Preserver of the - Pilgrims - 1621 - Erected by the - International - Order of Red - Men as a - Grateful Tribute - 1921 - - [Illustration: MASSASOIT - “Friend of the Pilgrims”] - - [Illustration: THE EDWARD WINSLOW HOUSE] - -Winslow Street curves north from lower North Street and enters Water -Street a short distance beyond. At the apex of the curve stands the -house built in 1754 by Edward Winslow, great-grandson of Gov. Edward -Winslow of the Plymouth Colony. The timbers used in its construction -were brought from England. As shown, the house is an elaboration of the -house in its original form. The trees in front of the house were planted -by Edward Winslow’s daughter in 1760. - -This property has been acquired by the National Society of Mayflower -Descendants. - -The above picture shows the Winslow House in its reconstruction. It was -in this house that Ralph Waldo Emerson married Miss Lidian Jackson, -daughter of Charles and Lucy (Cotton) Jackson who, at the time, occupied -the house. It was later the residence of Rev. George Ware Briggs, long -identified with the First Church in Plymouth. - -Passing up North Street, shaded by its arch of lindens, we come to the -house of Gen. John Winslow, built in 1730. This building stands at the -corner of Main and North Streets and is now a business block. It was -upon Gen. Winslow, who was a brother of Edward Winslow, that fell the -unpleasant burden of removing the neutral Arcadians from Nova Scotia. -This historic building was later the home of James Warren, President of -the Provincial Congress, who married Mercy Otis, sister of James Otis, -the brilliant champion of American rights. - -We are now in Shirley Square, the town’s business center. - -It may be observed that North Street and Leyden Street run parallel -toward the water, Carver Street following the curve on Cole’s Hill -connecting with both streets at the north and south sides of the hill. -Middle Street, starting at Main, runs between North and Leyden Streets -and ends at the hill. - -To those who have not visited Plymouth in recent years, the transition -of Court and North Streets from their quiet residential charm, to -avenues of commercial enterprise, will be noticeable. It is the -inevitable contribution to expansion and progress. - -Let us turn right here and proceed north on Court Street. A few steps -takes us to the Plymouth County Court House and the Registry of Deeds. - -The Plymouth County Court House stands between North and South Russell -Streets with its wide expanse of lawn extending to Court Street. From -here one looks down Brewster Street to the harbor. On the northerly -corner of Brewster and Court Streets is the Methodist Church. On the -southerly corner, the home of the Old Colony Club. - -The Court House was erected in 1820 and was remodeled in 1857. It -contains, beside the court rooms, accommodations for the various county -offices. - -During recent years the houses on the south side of South Russell Street -running westerly from School Street have been removed and Burial Hill -has been extended to the corner. This change brings the historic hill -into view across the Court House lawn as one approaches from the north. - - - - - THE REGISTRY OF DEEDS - - - [Illustration: {Illustrated capital}] - -On North Russell Street stands the Registry of Deeds, a fireproof -building erected in 1904. To the antiquarian and those interested in -historical data, this building would rank next to Pilgrim Hall, if not -first in importance. It contains papers of unusual interest, including -many signed by Pilgrim hands, as well as those bearing the identifying -signs or marks of the native Indians. - -There are deeds in the native language, Gov. Bradford’s order for trial -by jury, various laws pertaining to the guidance of the colony and of -the division of land, including a plan of the laying out of the first -street (now Leyden Street). - -The second patent, dated 1629, granted by the Earl of Warwick, may be -seen in the original box in which it came from England. - -The distribution of milk from the cows imported from England is even -provided for. This was a matter of much concern as the supply was short -and the demand great, to which these papers bear attest. The Registry of -Probate occupies the second floor of the building. - -Continuing along Court Street to Chilton Street we come to Pilgrim Hall, -stopping at the Tabitha Plasket House on the way. - - [Illustration: TABITHA PLASKET HOUSE] - -This house, pictured above, was built in 1722 by Consider Howland, -great-grandson of John Howland, who came in the Mayflower. A -considerable part of the original structure still remains. It was -occupied for some years by Tabitha Plasket, said to have been the first -woman school teacher, and a person of strong personality and rigorous -discipline. It is recorded that she hung unruly scholars to the wall by -placing a skein of yarn under the arms as a corrective measure. The -house is located on the east side of Court Street, between the Court -House and Pilgrim Hall. - - [Illustration: PILGRIM HALL] - - [Illustration: {Illustrated capital}] - -One is awakened to the realism of the early life of the Colony with a -visit to Pilgrim Hall, that shrine of all lovers of Pilgrim history, -where repose many articles brought over in the Mayflower and closely -associated with the daily life of the Pilgrims. - - [Illustration: INTERIOR VIEW OF PILGRIM HALL MUSEUM] - -This building on the easterly side of Court Street, a short distance -north of the Court House, was erected by the Pilgrim Society in 1824 in -memory of the Pilgrims and as a depository for historical relics; In -1880 material improvements were made in the original structure, largely -through the generosity of the late Joseph Henry Stickney of Baltimore -who had always taken an intense interest in matters concerning the early -colony. At the time, the top portion of Plymouth Rock, which had for 46 -years been resting at one side of the entrance to the hall, the latter -part of the time enclosed by an iron fence, was moved back to its -original bed and placed on the base where it has since remained. Later -in 1911-12 the Pilgrim Society spent approximately $15,000 in completing -the work already inaugurated by Mr. Stickney, making the building -practically fireproof with its steel beams, terra cotta and cement -tiles, marble floors, etc. Its Doric portico is impressive in its -dignity and will be easily recognized as one approaches from either -direction. - - [Illustration: MAYFLOWER FOUNTAIN - - Located in garden in rear of Pilgrim Hall. Gift of the General - Society Daughters of the Revolution] - - - AN HISTORICAL COLLECTION - -The following are only a few of the interesting treasures within the -hall: - -Picture of the “Landing,” in vestibule of Hall. Given by R. G. Shaw of -Boston. - -Picture of the “Landing,” 13 x 16 feet, by Henry Sargent of Boston and -presented by him in 1834. On east wall of hall. - -Copy of Weir’s Embarkation from Delft Haven. Painted by Edgar Parker. -South wall of hall. - -Departure from Delft Haven, by Charles Lucy. Presented by Alexander H. -Rice, former governor of Massachusetts. This picture won first prize of -one thousand guineas at an exhibition in England. Of great value. West -wall. - -Original of Weir’s Embarkation of the Pilgrims from Delft Haven. -Purchased by the Society in 1914 (Weir’s picture in the rotunda of the -Capitol at Washington is an enlargement from this study). - -W. F. Halsall’s fine painting of the Mayflower in Plymouth Harbor hangs -on the north wall inclosed by portraits of the Winslow family. - -Many engravings of historic interest, including the Signing of the -Compact. - -Patent of the Plymouth Colony. This is the oldest state document in New -England. It bears the date of June 1, 1621, was granted to John Peirce -and came over in the ship Fortune in November, 1621. It shows the seals -and signatures of the Duke of Lenox, the Marquis of Hamilton, the Earl -of Warwick, Lord Sheffield and Sir Fernando Gorges. Several parts of -this ancient document have broken away, including the seal of Hamilton -and the seal and signature of John Peirce, the party of the second part -thereto. This charter includes the territory in and around Cape Cod Bay, -outside that allotted in the first charter which had covered the -territory to the south in the neighborhood of the Virginia Capes. This -second charter was granted by the Council for New England, which had -been created by royal authority after the departure of the Pilgrims from -Plymouth, England. - - [Illustration: GOV. CARVER’S CHAIR IN PILGRIM HALL MUSEUM] - -Bible of Governor William Bradford printed in Geneva in 1592. - -Chairs of Elder Brewster, Gov. Carver and Gov. Winslow. - -Carved back of pew taken from parish church at Scrooby, Eng. - -The famous sword of Captain Myles Standish dating back several centuries -before the Christian era; captured from the Persians by the Saracens in -637 at Jerusalem and bearing the inscription in Arabic, “With peace God -ruled His slaves (creatures) and with the judgment of his arm He -troubled the mighty of the wicked.” - -Portraits of Dr. James Tucker, first secretary of the Pilgrim Society; -Joseph Henry Stickney, generous contributor to the Society, hanging over -bronze tablet; George Washington; Edward Everett; Edward Winslow, -Governor of Plymouth Colony in 1633-36-44; Josiah Winslow, son of Edward -Winslow, Governor, 1673-1680; Penelope Winslow, wife of Governor Josiah; -Gen. John Winslow (great grandson of Edward); Dr. Isaac Winslow. These -portraits are grouped about the picture of the Mayflower (by Halsall), -hanging on the north wall of the hall. - -Portrait of the Hon. Daniel Webster. - -Original manuscript, including Miss Felicia Heman’s “The Breaking Waves -Dashed High.” - -In the fireproof annex, which holds the library, are over three thousand -volumes of great value, dating back as far as 1559. - -There is a basement in which are stored relics of a somewhat later -period. In fact, the building is so filled with interesting reminders of -the early Colonial days that it would be useless to enumerate them here. -There is a complete catalogue obtainable at the hall which will be a -great aid to the visitor as each article is described in detail. The -Hall is open daily to visitors. Admission twenty-five cents. - - - THE PILGRIM SOCIETY - -The Pilgrim Society held its first meeting after incorporation in the -Court House in Plymouth on May 18th, 1820, and elected Mr. Joshua Thomas -its first president. It was the result of a previous meeting of Plymouth -gentlemen at the home of Mr. Thomas, who were inspired with a desire to -perpetuate the memory of the first settlers. - -Four years later the original home of the society was erected upon its -present location and upon plans of Alexander Parris, architect of the -Boston Cathedral of St. Paul. This building as before stated was -remodeled in 1880 and the wing which now houses the library and other -Pilgrimiana was added in 1904. The present granite facade was a gift of -the New England Society in New York in 1922. - -Across the street from Pilgrim Hall and a little to the north is the -Armory previously referred to, while a few steps beyond is St. Peter’s -Catholic Church. At this point on the east side of Court Street is the -Plymouth Memorial Building, also previously described. This building -stands on the lot formerly occupied by the colonial residence built in -1809 by Major William Hammett and later and for many years occupied by -Mr. Thomas Hedge and family. When the erection of the Memorial Building -was decided upon, this house was moved back and now faces Water Street -and the harbor. It is reminiscent of the early 19th century and is -maintained and kept open to visitors during the summer by the Plymouth -Antiquarian Society. - - - WATSON’S HILL - -Market Street, which parallels Main Street Extension, runs from Town -Square southward, converging with Sandwich and Pleasant Streets at its -base. Beyond and to the right is Watson’s Hill from which place -Massasoit and his braves approached the settlement, crossing the brook -at the ford below on their way to the Common House where the famous -treaty was consummated. An excellent view of the town is to be had from -this elevation, originally a corn field and for generations a section of -attractive homes. - - [Illustration: OLD DOORWAYS ON SUMMER STREET] - - - SUMMER STREET AND MORTON PARK - -Summer street leads westerly from Market Street, being one of the first -streets laid out. Here may be seen two of the oldest houses in Plymouth, -viz.: the Richard Sparrow House on the left of the street and a short -distance from Market Street and the Leach House a few steps beyond at -the Corner of Spring Street, once known as Spring Lane. This house was -built by George Bonum in 1679. - -The Sparrow House is presumed to have been built by Richard Sparrow in -1640. If so, it is the oldest house in Plymouth. Inside it is -distinctive of the early 17th century era with its great fireplace and -its brick oven. - -Note: Spring Street has been referred to as Spring Lane and Baptist - Hill, the latter designation derived from the fact that a Baptist - chapel occupied a lot for many years on the west side a few steps - from Summer Street. - -This house is now used as craftsman’s shop by the Plymouth Potters, and -is open to visitors. - -Plymouth Pottery is unique in that it is made up of local red-firing -clay by former pupils of a State Vocational Project—now organized into a -co-operative guild. - -Many pieces have an early American flavor and the hand-ground glazes -give interesting and unusual effects. Many persons have called these -pieces “heirlooms of the future.” - -Summer Street follows the brook along which were many manufacturing -concerns a short generation ago. It leads to the wooded area of the town -past Oak Grove and Pine Hills Cemeteries to Morton Park, a woodland -sanctuary of nearly 340 acres situated about a mile from the town’s -center. This land was given to the town by a group of Plymouth citizens -in 1889, headed by Mr. Nathaniel Morton, who was himself a generous -contributor. - -The Park includes two lakes of sparkling fresh water, Little Pond which -covers approximately 40 acres and where accommodations are provided for -picnics and bathing, and Billington Sea, covering an area of over three -hundred acres. - - [Illustration: THE HOWLAND HOUSE—Built in 1666—Restored 1941 - The only house in Plymouth where Pilgrims once lived] - - - THE TRAINING GREEN - -Lying just below Watson’s Hill between Pleasant Street on the west and -Sandwich Street on the east, is an open square known as Training Green, -from the fact that in the earlier days companies of militia were trained -there in the manual of arms. In the center stands the Soldiers’ -Monument, erected in 1869 to the memory of Plymouth men who served in -the army and navy and who gave their lives during the Civil War. This -tract of land was used before the arrival of the Pilgrims by the Indians -for growing corn. It has contributed its share of arrow heads and other -Indian relics, as have the other hills and fields in the immediate -neighborhood. - - - SANDWICH STREET, OLD HOUSES - -Sandwich Street runs southeasterly from the foot of Market Street, -formerly Spring Hill. Near this point on the west side of Sandwich -Street, near the head of Water Street, is the Howland House, built in -1666. It was the home of Jabez Howland, son of John Howland of the -Mayflower, who died in 1672. - -This house is now owned by the Society of Howland Descendants which -holds annual reunions for the purpose of keeping alive the family -intercourse and the traditions of the early colonial days. - - - THE HARLOW HOUSE - - [Illustration: HARLOW HOUSE (1677) - - The Harlow House, now a museum of 17th century life, is maintained - by the Plymouth Antiquarian Society] - -Just beyond on the west side of Sandwich Street (No. 119) is the William -Harlow House, built in 1677. - -A transfer of land on which this house stands is in the town records -under date of July 29, 1669, as follows: “att this meeting a quarter of -an acre of land was granted to William Harlow being a little Knowle or -smale psell of land lying nere his now dwelling house on the westerly -syde of the Road Way To sett a new house upon.” (sic) Timbers used in -the construction of this house were taken from the old fort on Burial -Hill. - -The Plymouth Antiquarian Society acquired this property with the object -of preserving a fine example of the homes of the early settlement. Here -may be seen the spinning wheel, the pots and kettles and other articles -of domestic use necessary to the family upkeep three centuries and over -ago. - -The Society also maintains the Antiquarian House on Water Street, which -is preserved as it was in early Colonial days and is well worth a visit. - - - THE KENDALL HOLMES HOUSE - -This house was built by William Harlow in 1654 and later acquired by -Kendall Holmes. It is located on Winter Street, east of Sandwich Street. -The house stands as originally built except for the ell which was added -later. In both furnishings and construction it provides a fine example -of the houses of the early colonial period. - -A short distance beyond is Jabez Corner. Here the roads diverge, the -road to the right leading to Chiltonville, once known as Eel River, an -attractive community village one and one-half miles distant. - -Straight ahead Warren Avenue follows the shore. This is one of -Plymouth’s most picturesque and delightful residential sections with its -view of harbor and bay, and its expanse of unbroken terrain as it slopes -toward the water, all within easy access to the business center. - -One mile to the south is the Plymouth Beach Club and a short distance -beyond at the point where Plymouth Beach extends along the inner harbor -and Eel River enters the harbor, are the splendid facilities for public -bathing provided by the Town of Plymouth. A half mile beyond, near Hotel -Pilgrim, is the 18-hole golf course of the Plymouth Country Club, one of -the finest in the country. - -Here the roads diverge again. The road to the left follows the shore, -although at points high above the water, while the road to the right -runs directly over the Pine Hills. - -These hills were included in the early division of land designated as -the “Great Lots” in 1711-12, and later transferred by deed at various -times and to various ownerships. At points they reach an altitude of 400 -feet above sea level. The roads running nearly parallel, meet at the -point three miles south where the Manomet church stands at the southeast -corner of the intersection. - -One-half mile to the east is White Horse Beach which, during the past -few years, has developed into a large summer colony. The beach between -White Horse and Manomet Point affords excellent bathing, and boats with -tackle for sea fishing are readily obtainable. - -Nearby to the south is Hotel Mayflower, and at the “Point” below, the -Manomet Coast Guard Station. Manomet Village lies to the west, and on -the bluff overlooking the bay is Hotel Idlewild (formerly the Barstow -House). - -Southward stretch wide acres of fields and meadows, hills and vales -dotted here and there by farms and gardens, a variation of landscape -that is typical of New England. Hundreds of acres devoted to cranberry -culture may be seen from the highway, an indication of the high state of -development this industry has reached. - -From many points of vantage along the entire shore, coastwise traffic -via the Cape Cod Canal may be seen heading north and south. - -The Town of Plymouth is fortunate in having this wide expanse of -adaptable terrain within its confines. The entire area with its scenic -beauty, its woods, its lakes, its bay, its beaches, its rocks, its -foliage and flowers, is a natural heritage, which, combined with man’s -handiwork, is becoming more and more inviting, not only as a haven of -rest and recreation, but as the ideal American homesite. - - - - - THE MAYFLOWER PASSENGERS - - - Prepared by George Ernest Bowman - Editor of “The Mayflower Descendant” - -There were only one hundred and four (104) Mayflower Passengers. Every -one of them is included in the two lists following. There were no other -passengers. - -The 50 passengers from whom descent can be proved: - - John Alden - Isaac Allerton - wife Mary - daughter Mary - daughter Remember - John Billington - wife Eleanor - son Francis - William Bradford - William Brewster - wife Mary - son Love - Peter Brown - James Chilton - wife —— - daughter Mary - Francis Cooke - son John - Edward Doty - Francis Eaton - wife Sarah - son Samuel - Edward Fuller - wife —— - son Samuel - Dr. Samuel Fuller - Stephen Hopkins - 2nd wife, Elizabeth - son Gyles (by 1st wife) - daughter Constance (by 1st wife) - John Howland - Richard More - William Mullins - wife Alice - daughter Priscilla - Degory Priest - Thomas Rogers - son Joseph - Henry Samson - George Soule - Myles Standish - John Tilley, and wife —— - daughter Elizabeth - Richard Warren - William White - wife Susanna - son Resolved - son Peregrine - Edward Winslow - -The 54 passengers from whom descent cannot be proved. - - Bartholomew Allerton - John Allerton - John Billington - Dorothy Bradford - (1st wife of William) - Wrestling Brewster - Richard Britterige - William Butten - Robert Carter - John Carver - Katherine Carver - (wife of John) - Maid servant of the Carvers - Richard Clarke - Humility Cooper - John Crakston - son John - —— Ely - Thomas English - Moses Fletcher - Richard Gardiner - John Goodman - William Holbeck - John Hooke - Damaris Hopkins - Oceanus Hopkins - John Langmore - William Latham - Edward Leister - Edmund Margeson - Christopher Martin - wife —— - Desire Minter - Ellen More - Jasper More - (a boy) More - Joseph Mullins - Solomon Prower - John Rigdale - wife Alice - Rose Standish - (1st wife of Myles) - Elias Story - Edward Thomson - Edward Tilley - wife Ann - Thomas Tinker - wife —— - son —— - William Trevore - John Turner - son —— - son —— - Roger Wilder - Thomas Williams - Elizabeth Winslow - (1st wife of Edward) - Gilbert Winslow - - [Illustration: {Illustrated capital}] - -The migration of the Pilgrim company was the result of years of friction -between the adherents of the established Church of England with its -perfunctory ritualisms and those who demanded the right to worship -according to their conscience and the simplicity of the gospel as -exemplified in the scriptures. - -This determined attitude on the part of the dissenters was met by -arbitrary rulings on the part of the reigning monarch, King James I, of -England and the bishops who received their support from the crown. The -oppression became so great that in 1608 the congregation of the Pilgrim -Church at Scrooby moved to Amsterdam, Holland, whence in 1609 they moved -to Leyden, twenty-two miles distant. Here they remained for twelve -years. It was a temporary refuge, however. There was the constantly -growing fear of assimilation into Dutch life and habits as well as the -absorption of a language foreign to themselves and their posterity. They -preferred to remain English men and women although their relations had -been friendly with the Dutch who commended their industry and their -peaceful contacts. Nevertheless, King James was beginning to exercise -his influence in the low countries again much to their discomfiture. - -Finally deciding to leave Leyden, application was made to the Virginia -Company which had been established in 1606, and held patents to land -along the Atlantic coast of North America from the 34th to 45th degrees -of north latitude, for a patent to land suitable for settlement. - -Having secured their patent, estates were liquidated and, with the -proceeds therefrom, together with money subscribed by the London -company, styled the Merchant Adventurers, with whom they had formed a -business alliance, the Speedwell, a small vessel of sixty tons, was -secured and sent to Delfthaven to transport the colonists to Southampton -where the Mayflower, a vessel of one hundred and eighty tons, was to -join them. - -On the 15th of August, 1620, both vessels left Southampton, but the -Speedwell proving unseaworthy, they were obliged to return, putting into -the harbor of Dartmouth for repairs. A second attempt resulted in -abandoning the Speedwell at Plymouth, from which port the Mayflower -sailed alone on the 16th of September. After a tempestuous voyage of -sixty-six days, refuge was taken in Cape Cod harbor (Provincetown) on -November 21st, 1620. - -From here exploring parties set out in the shallop (small boat) to -locate a suitable home site and on December 21st a landing was made at -Plymouth, the Mayflower following on December 26th. And here a permanent -settlement was established. - - [Illustration: THE DEPARTURE FOR AMERICA] - -As the patent they held covered land in the vicinity of the Virginia -capes, and settlement was made outside the limits defined therein, a -second patent was obtained covering land contiguous to Cape Cod Bay. -This second patent was brought over in the Fortune in 1621 and is now -preserved in Pilgrim Hall. - -It was while the Mayflower lay in Provincetown harbor that, to quote -from Mourt’s Relation under date of November 23rd, 1620, “Our people -went on shore to refresh themselves and our women to wash as they had -great need.” This was on Monday, and is supposed to be the origin of our -national “Wash Day.” - - [Illustration: SCENE OF LANDING] - -It was here also that the famous document referred to by Bradford as a -“combination” but later known as the Compact was drawn and signed. This -document has often been referred to as the genesis of our present form -of constitutional government as expounded in the Constitution of the -United States and later expressed by Lincoln as “of the people, by the -people and for the people.” It anticipates future growth and development -and the enactment of laws necessary to meet changing conditions as “by -vertue hereof to enacte, constitute and frame such just & equall lawes, -ordinances, Acts, constitutions & offices, from time to time, as shall -be thought most meete & conuenient for ye generall good of ye Colonie.” -(sic) - -It has been said of the Pilgrims that “They builded better than they -knew.” This should not be interpreted too literally. They laid a solid -foundation upon which future generations could and did build, and upon -this foundation rests the security of the structure that is our present -form of government. - -The literal text of this immortal document follows: - - - THE COMPACT - (Copied from Bradford’s “History of Plymouth Plantation”) - - [Illustration: {Illustrated capital}] - -In ye name of God Amen. We whose names are underwriten, the loyall -subjects of our dread soueraigne Lord King James, by ye grace of God, of -Great Britaine, Franc, & Ireland king, defender of ye faith, &c. Haueing -undertaken, for ye glorie of God, and aduancemente of ye christian faith -and honour of our king & countrie, a voyage to plant ye first colonie in -ye Northerne parts of Virginia, doe by these presents solemnly & mutualy -in ye presence of God, and one of another; couenant, & combine our -selues togeather into a ciuill body politick; for our better ordering, & -preseruation & furtherance of ye ends aforesaid; and by vertue hereof to -enacte, constitute, and frame such just & equall lawes, ordinances, -Acts, constitutions, & offices, from time to time, as shall be thought -most meete & conuenient for ye generall good of ye Colonie; unto which -we promise all due submission and obedience. In witness whereof we haue -hereunder subscribed our names at Cap-Codd ye .11. of Nouember in ye -year of ye raigne of our soueraigne Lord King James of England, France, -& Ireland ye eighteenth, and of Scotland ye fiftie fourth. Ano: Dom. -1620. - - John Carver - William Bradford - Edward Winslow - William Brewster - Isaac Allerton - Myles Standish - John Alden - John Turner - Francis Eaton - James Chilton - John Crakston - John Billington - Moses Fletcher - John Goodman - Samuel Fuller - Christopher Martin - William Mullins - Degory Priest - Thomas Williams - Gilbert Winslow - Edmund Margeson - Peter Brown - Richard Britterige - George Soule - Edward Tilley - John Tilley - Francis Cooke - Thomas Rogers - Thomas Tinker - John Rigdale - Edward Fuller - Richard Clark - Richard Gardiner - John Allerton - William White - Richard Warren - John Howland - Stephen Hopkins - Thomas English - Edward Doty - Edward Leister - -During the first year the colony was reduced nearly one-half through -exposure and disease. These losses were later offset by arrivals in the -Fortune in 1621 and the Little James in 1623. - -In April, 1621, a treaty was made with Massasoit, chief of the Wampanoag -Indians, who occupied the surrounding territory. This was brought about -through the good offices of Samoset and Squanto, two friendly Indians, -the former having learned some English from contact with fishermen along -the coast of Maine whence he had come, while the latter had been taken -with a number of others by a Captain Hunt who had “got them under cover -of trucking with them and carried them away and sold them as slaves.” He -had made his escape and returned to his home with the Nausets on Cape -Cod. - -This treaty was held inviolate during the life of Massasoit and -thereafter until the outbreak of the King Philip War in 1675. -Precautionary measures were taken however to protect the settlement, and -in 1622 a fort was erected on Burial Hill. This was supplemented by a -watch tower in 1643. During the King Philip War a larger fort was -erected on the same site. Fortunately the Plymouth colony escaped Indian -attack although in 1676 a small community to the south near Eel River -was attacked and eleven settlers killed. - -It is hard to realize in these days of material comforts, not to speak -of luxuries, the hardships of our forebears. It was a case of work for -survival. And there must have been work for by December, 1621, “seven -dwelling houses and four for the use of the plantation” had been -erected. The harvest of 1621 had been successful and a season of -Thanksgiving had been observed, wherein some of the friendly Indians had -participated, this being the origin of our present Thanksgiving Day. - -Nevertheless their existence was fraught with uncertainties. Their -stocks of provisions were soon depleted and the problem of food supply -became one of increasing concern. The very life of the colony depended -upon the success of their crops. Corn had become increasingly valuable, -not only as an article of food but as a medium of exchange, the -colonists having little or no money. - -Up to 1623 they worked together on company land, sharing the fruits of -their combined labor. This year owing to the shortage of crops “they -begane to think how they might raise as much corne as they could and -abtaine a better crope than they had done that they might not still thus -languish in miserie.” - - - LAND DIVIDED - -And so “to every family was assigned a parcell of land according to the -proportion of their number for that end (but made no provision for -inheritance) and ranged all boys & youths under some family. This had -very good success for it made all hands industrious, so as much more -corne was planted then other waise would have bene by any means the -Governor or any other could use.” - -This was followed the next season by a division of land wherein “to -every person was given only one acre, to them and theirs, as near the -towne as might be, and they had no more till the seven years were -expired.” - -Note: This was in accordance, at least in spirit, with the imposed - provisions of their contract with the English company of Merchant - Adventurers who had financed their expedition. - -A further division of land, following a division of livestock, was made -in 1627, wherein “every person or share should have 20 acres of land -divided unto them, besides the single acres they had already.” (sic). - - —Quotations from Bradford’s History of Plymouth Plantation - - - THEY CARRY ON - -Fortified by faith and grim determination the colonists carried on in -the face of great adversity, yet getting more and more firmly -established. - -In 1636, owing to the growth of the original colony or plantation and -the establishment of separate settlements at Scituate and Duxbury, the -purely democratic rule which had obtained under the Mayflower Compact, -wherein matters pertaining to the interests of the colony were settled -in general assembly, was superseded by a law passed providing for -government by deputies representing the several towns. - -The first legislative body met in 1639 and brought together -representatives from the outlying towns of Sandwich, Barnstable, -Yarmouth, Taunton, Scituate, Duxbury and Plymouth. - -In 1643, for mutual interests and against the menace of Indian attack, a -confederation was formed between the Plymouth and Massachusetts colonies -in combination with Connecticut and New Haven as separate units, with -authority vested in commissioners. - -This remained in force until 1672 when a new compact was made upon the -union of Connecticut and New Haven, which gave less authority to the -commissioners. - -In 1686 Sir Edmund Andros was sent by King James to rule over the -Dominion of New England, to which in 1688 New York and New Jersey were -added, the seat of government remaining in Boston. - -Conditions under Andros with his autocratic assumptions and restrictions -were not pleasant. It is interesting to note in this connection that -Clark’s Island which had for some time been used for the support of the -poor, was turned over by Andros to one of his followers who had been -attracted by its natural beauties. - -The ascension of William III to the throne of England in 1689 had much -to do with shaping the destinies of the colonists. The regime of Andros -continued until word was received that the landing of William, Prince of -Orange, in England threatened the overthrow of the Stuart dynasty when -the citizens of Boston revolted, took possession of a British ship in -the harbor and overthrew the crown’s despotic representative. Plymouth -again acquired Clark’s Island and later the proclamation of William and -Mary established once more the freedom the colonists had previously -enjoyed. - -In 1692 came the union of the Massachusetts Bay and Plymouth colonies. -Sir William Phipps was appointed by the crown chief magistrate over the -Massachusetts Colony with which the Plymouth Colony was united under one -royal charter. - - - - - [Illustration: A&P] - - - The Light Refreshment - - [Illustration: Pepsi-Cola] - - Pepsi-Cola Bottling Co., Inc. of Plymouth - 124 Sandwich St. Plymouth, Mass. - - - - - PLYMOUTH ROPE, THE NATION’S SERVANT - -Plymouth ropes have helped to write exciting chapters in American -history. - -Beginning in 1824, they have sailed the seven seas aboard packet and -whalers, the China clippers and war privateers. Today they go aboard -majestic ocean liners and modern battle ships. They’re even on the -atomic powered submarines. - -The products of Plymouth Cordage Company are intertwined in many other -phases of the American economy ... in agriculture and fishing, in the -construction, manufacturing, aircraft and petroleum industries, the -public utilities and numerous other fields. - -There’s a Plymouth rope serving the nation every minute of every day. - - PLYMOUTH CORDAGE COMPANY - Plymouth, Massachusetts - Established 1824 - - - [Illustration: {uncaptioned}] - - Myles Standish Restaurant - • - _Catering to Parties_ - • - OPEN 10 A.M. to 10 P.M. - • - _Home Cooked Foods_ - • - HALL’S CORNER - Telephone Duxbury 800 - - - - - [Illustration: FIRST NATIONAL Stores] - - - A PILGRIM DISCOVERY - - [Illustration: {uncaptioned}] - -Cranberries, growing wild on Cape Cod, were made into cranberry sauce by -an unknown Pilgrim housewife. The Indians ate their cranberries raw, but -the Pilgrim ladies stewed them with sugar as they did other fruits ... -thus, cranberry sauce! - -Ocean Spray still follows this original, simple recipe in the -preparation of famous Ocean Spray Cranberry Sauce. Ocean Spray Cranberry -products: Jellied Sauce, Whole Sauce, Cranberry Juice Cocktail and -Dietetic Cranberry as well as Fresh Cranberries in season make it -possible to enjoy the flavor of cranberries all year ’round. - - - - - [Illustration: OUR HOME SINCE JULY, 1952] - - Main Building 1803 Addition and Renovation 1952 - _Organized 1882—Federalized 1937_ - -For 75 years this financial institution has contributed to the community -welfare of Plymouth and vicinity. It has encouraged ... and made -possible, home ownership for many. It has extended a financial helping -hand to broaden the cultural, educational and social horizons of its -citizens. It is aiding many to acquire security and independence through -systematic saving. We welcome long term investment funds seeking sound -placement at better than average yield. - - Each account insured up to $10,000 - - Plymouth Federal Savings - and Loan Association - COURT AND RUSSELL STREETS - PLYMOUTH, MASSACHUSETTS - - - - - _Enjoy_ THIS TRIP ON A _Real Train_ - EDAVILLE RAILROAD - - - [Illustration: {map}] - - A PHOTOGRAPHERS PARADISE - SANTA’S WORKSHOP - MT. URAH - STEEPEST GRADE - PARKING AREA - PARKING AREA FOR THOUSANDS OF CARS - CRANBERRY JUNCTION - PARKING AREA - CRANBERRY BOG - BERRIES ARE SCOOPED AT HARVEST TIME IN SEPTEMBER - PINE WOODS - PEACEDALE A MINIATURE NEW ENGLAND VILLAGE - LARGE RESERVOIR NEEDED TO FLOOD CRANBERRY BOGS IN TIME OF FROST - CRANBERRY COVE - PLANTATION CENTER - EDAVILLE FLOAT BOAT - THRILLS THOUSANDS AS IT SKIMS ALONG THE FLOODED BOGS TO STIR UP LOOSE - CRANBERRIES - DROPPED BY PICKERS DURING HARVEST TIME. IT’S PROPELLED BY AN AIRPLANE - ENGINE AND PROPELLER. - SUNSET VISTA - SAVERY AVENUE—SAID TO BE THE FIRST DIVIDED HIGHWAY IN THE U.S. - ROUTE 58 - TO ROUTE 25 AND CAPE COD - TO ROUTE 44 AND PROVIDENCE, R.I. - AND HISTORICAL PLYMOUTH, MASS. - WHISTLE POST TRAIN WHISTLE BLOWS TWICE IN MEMORY OF THE LATE ELLIS D. - ATWOOD, FOUNDER OF “EDAVILLE R. R.” - EDAVILLE GENERAL OFFICES - EDAVILLE STATION AND SNACK BAR - PRIVATE RECEPTION CAR - KIDDIES’ PLAYGROUND - STEAM LOCOMOTIVE ON DISPLAY - TURN TABLE - WATER TANK - #100 STEAM LOCOMOTIVE ON DISPLAY - ENGINE HOUSE - GIFT SHOP - REPAIR DEPOT - BARBECUE AREA SERVING A DELICIOUS CHICKEN ’N CRANBERRY BARBECUE - RAILROAD MUSEUM ANTIQUE CARS, GUNS & FIRE EQUIPMENT - FIRE TRUCK RIDES - ICE CREAM & TONIC CONCESSION - BATH HOUSE - SWIMMING POOL - PICNIC AREA - REST ROOMS - RECREATION FIELD (DIFFERENT EVENTS SUCH AS HORSE PULLS ARE PUT ON - HERE) - CRANBERRY BOGS ONE OF THE LARGEST INDEPENDENTLY OWNED PLANTATIONS IN - THE UNITED STATES - P.S. GREENWOOD - PLYMOUTH, MASS. - - SCHEDULE - TRAINS RUN DAILY - April 6, 1957 thru Jan. 5, 1958 - (Subject to Change Without Notice) - - _All Main Highways from - Boston and Cape Cod lead to_ - EDAVILLE RAILROAD - RT. 58 • SOUTH CARVER • MASS. - - - - - CONTENTS - - - Exclusive Detailed Guide Map - Location and Description of Historic Places Including: - - -—Plymouth Rock - -—Pilgrim Hall - -—Howland House - -—Antiquarian House - -—Burial Hill - -—Cole’s Hill - -—Town Square - -—National Monument to the Forefathers - -—Old Fort - -—Pilgrim Progress - -—Pilgrim Maiden - -—The Compact - -—List of Mayflower Passengers - -—Town Square and Churches - -—Brief Chronicle of the Pilgrims - - -And all else of interest. - - ILLUSTRATED - - [Illustration: Cover image] - - - - - Transcriber’s Notes - - -—Silently corrected a few typos. - -—Retained publication information from the printed edition: this eBook - is public-domain in the country of publication. - -—In the text versions only, text in italics is delimited by - _underscores_. - - - - - - - -End of the Project Gutenberg EBook of Pilgrim Guide Book to Plymouth, -Massachusetts, by William F. Atwood - -*** END OF THIS PROJECT GUTENBERG EBOOK PILGRIM GUIDE BOOK TO PLYMOUTH, MASS *** - -***** This file should be named 62845-0.txt or 62845-0.zip ***** -This and all associated files of various formats will be found in: - http://www.gutenberg.org/6/2/8/4/62845/ - -Produced by Stephen Hutcheson and the Online Distributed -Proofreading Team at https://www.pgdp.net - -Updated editions will replace the previous one--the old editions will -be renamed. - -Creating the works from print editions not protected by U.S. copyright -law means that no one owns a United States copyright in these works, -so the Foundation (and you!) can copy and distribute it in the United -States without permission and without paying copyright -royalties. Special rules, set forth in the General Terms of Use part -of this license, apply to copying and distributing Project -Gutenberg-tm electronic works to protect the PROJECT GUTENBERG-tm -concept and trademark. Project Gutenberg is a registered trademark, -and may not be used if you charge for the eBooks, unless you receive -specific permission. If you do not charge anything for copies of this -eBook, complying with the rules is very easy. You may use this eBook -for nearly any purpose such as creation of derivative works, reports, -performances and research. They may be modified and printed and given -away--you may do practically ANYTHING in the United States with eBooks -not protected by U.S. copyright law. Redistribution is subject to the -trademark license, especially commercial redistribution. - -START: FULL LICENSE - -THE FULL PROJECT GUTENBERG LICENSE -PLEASE READ THIS BEFORE YOU DISTRIBUTE OR USE THIS WORK - -To protect the Project Gutenberg-tm mission of promoting the free -distribution of electronic works, by using or distributing this work -(or any other work associated in any way with the phrase "Project -Gutenberg"), you agree to comply with all the terms of the Full -Project Gutenberg-tm License available with this file or online at -www.gutenberg.org/license. - -Section 1. General Terms of Use and Redistributing Project -Gutenberg-tm electronic works - -1.A. By reading or using any part of this Project Gutenberg-tm -electronic work, you indicate that you have read, understand, agree to -and accept all the terms of this license and intellectual property -(trademark/copyright) agreement. If you do not agree to abide by all -the terms of this agreement, you must cease using and return or -destroy all copies of Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works in your -possession. If you paid a fee for obtaining a copy of or access to a -Project Gutenberg-tm electronic work and you do not agree to be bound -by the terms of this agreement, you may obtain a refund from the -person or entity to whom you paid the fee as set forth in paragraph -1.E.8. - -1.B. "Project Gutenberg" is a registered trademark. It may only be -used on or associated in any way with an electronic work by people who -agree to be bound by the terms of this agreement. There are a few -things that you can do with most Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works -even without complying with the full terms of this agreement. See -paragraph 1.C below. There are a lot of things you can do with Project -Gutenberg-tm electronic works if you follow the terms of this -agreement and help preserve free future access to Project Gutenberg-tm -electronic works. See paragraph 1.E below. - -1.C. The Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation ("the -Foundation" or PGLAF), owns a compilation copyright in the collection -of Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works. Nearly all the individual -works in the collection are in the public domain in the United -States. If an individual work is unprotected by copyright law in the -United States and you are located in the United States, we do not -claim a right to prevent you from copying, distributing, performing, -displaying or creating derivative works based on the work as long as -all references to Project Gutenberg are removed. Of course, we hope -that you will support the Project Gutenberg-tm mission of promoting -free access to electronic works by freely sharing Project Gutenberg-tm -works in compliance with the terms of this agreement for keeping the -Project Gutenberg-tm name associated with the work. You can easily -comply with the terms of this agreement by keeping this work in the -same format with its attached full Project Gutenberg-tm License when -you share it without charge with others. - -1.D. The copyright laws of the place where you are located also govern -what you can do with this work. Copyright laws in most countries are -in a constant state of change. If you are outside the United States, -check the laws of your country in addition to the terms of this -agreement before downloading, copying, displaying, performing, -distributing or creating derivative works based on this work or any -other Project Gutenberg-tm work. The Foundation makes no -representations concerning the copyright status of any work in any -country outside the United States. - -1.E. Unless you have removed all references to Project Gutenberg: - -1.E.1. The following sentence, with active links to, or other -immediate access to, the full Project Gutenberg-tm License must appear -prominently whenever any copy of a Project Gutenberg-tm work (any work -on which the phrase "Project Gutenberg" appears, or with which the -phrase "Project Gutenberg" is associated) is accessed, displayed, -performed, viewed, copied or distributed: - - This eBook is for the use of anyone anywhere in the United States and - most other parts of the world at no cost and with almost no - restrictions whatsoever. You may copy it, give it away or re-use it - under the terms of the Project Gutenberg License included with this - eBook or online at www.gutenberg.org. If you are not located in the - United States, you'll have to check the laws of the country where you - are located before using this ebook. - -1.E.2. If an individual Project Gutenberg-tm electronic work is -derived from texts not protected by U.S. copyright law (does not -contain a notice indicating that it is posted with permission of the -copyright holder), the work can be copied and distributed to anyone in -the United States without paying any fees or charges. If you are -redistributing or providing access to a work with the phrase "Project -Gutenberg" associated with or appearing on the work, you must comply -either with the requirements of paragraphs 1.E.1 through 1.E.7 or -obtain permission for the use of the work and the Project Gutenberg-tm -trademark as set forth in paragraphs 1.E.8 or 1.E.9. - -1.E.3. If an individual Project Gutenberg-tm electronic work is posted -with the permission of the copyright holder, your use and distribution -must comply with both paragraphs 1.E.1 through 1.E.7 and any -additional terms imposed by the copyright holder. Additional terms -will be linked to the Project Gutenberg-tm License for all works -posted with the permission of the copyright holder found at the -beginning of this work. - -1.E.4. Do not unlink or detach or remove the full Project Gutenberg-tm -License terms from this work, or any files containing a part of this -work or any other work associated with Project Gutenberg-tm. - -1.E.5. Do not copy, display, perform, distribute or redistribute this -electronic work, or any part of this electronic work, without -prominently displaying the sentence set forth in paragraph 1.E.1 with -active links or immediate access to the full terms of the Project -Gutenberg-tm License. - -1.E.6. You may convert to and distribute this work in any binary, -compressed, marked up, nonproprietary or proprietary form, including -any word processing or hypertext form. However, if you provide access -to or distribute copies of a Project Gutenberg-tm work in a format -other than "Plain Vanilla ASCII" or other format used in the official -version posted on the official Project Gutenberg-tm web site -(www.gutenberg.org), you must, at no additional cost, fee or expense -to the user, provide a copy, a means of exporting a copy, or a means -of obtaining a copy upon request, of the work in its original "Plain -Vanilla ASCII" or other form. Any alternate format must include the -full Project Gutenberg-tm License as specified in paragraph 1.E.1. - -1.E.7. Do not charge a fee for access to, viewing, displaying, -performing, copying or distributing any Project Gutenberg-tm works -unless you comply with paragraph 1.E.8 or 1.E.9. - -1.E.8. You may charge a reasonable fee for copies of or providing -access to or distributing Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works -provided that - -* You pay a royalty fee of 20% of the gross profits you derive from - the use of Project Gutenberg-tm works calculated using the method - you already use to calculate your applicable taxes. The fee is owed - to the owner of the Project Gutenberg-tm trademark, but he has - agreed to donate royalties under this paragraph to the Project - Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation. Royalty payments must be paid - within 60 days following each date on which you prepare (or are - legally required to prepare) your periodic tax returns. Royalty - payments should be clearly marked as such and sent to the Project - Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation at the address specified in - Section 4, "Information about donations to the Project Gutenberg - Literary Archive Foundation." - -* You provide a full refund of any money paid by a user who notifies - you in writing (or by e-mail) within 30 days of receipt that s/he - does not agree to the terms of the full Project Gutenberg-tm - License. You must require such a user to return or destroy all - copies of the works possessed in a physical medium and discontinue - all use of and all access to other copies of Project Gutenberg-tm - works. - -* You provide, in accordance with paragraph 1.F.3, a full refund of - any money paid for a work or a replacement copy, if a defect in the - electronic work is discovered and reported to you within 90 days of - receipt of the work. - -* You comply with all other terms of this agreement for free - distribution of Project Gutenberg-tm works. - -1.E.9. If you wish to charge a fee or distribute a Project -Gutenberg-tm electronic work or group of works on different terms than -are set forth in this agreement, you must obtain permission in writing -from both the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation and The -Project Gutenberg Trademark LLC, the owner of the Project Gutenberg-tm -trademark. Contact the Foundation as set forth in Section 3 below. - -1.F. - -1.F.1. Project Gutenberg volunteers and employees expend considerable -effort to identify, do copyright research on, transcribe and proofread -works not protected by U.S. copyright law in creating the Project -Gutenberg-tm collection. Despite these efforts, Project Gutenberg-tm -electronic works, and the medium on which they may be stored, may -contain "Defects," such as, but not limited to, incomplete, inaccurate -or corrupt data, transcription errors, a copyright or other -intellectual property infringement, a defective or damaged disk or -other medium, a computer virus, or computer codes that damage or -cannot be read by your equipment. - -1.F.2. LIMITED WARRANTY, DISCLAIMER OF DAMAGES - Except for the "Right -of Replacement or Refund" described in paragraph 1.F.3, the Project -Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation, the owner of the Project -Gutenberg-tm trademark, and any other party distributing a Project -Gutenberg-tm electronic work under this agreement, disclaim all -liability to you for damages, costs and expenses, including legal -fees. YOU AGREE THAT YOU HAVE NO REMEDIES FOR NEGLIGENCE, STRICT -LIABILITY, BREACH OF WARRANTY OR BREACH OF CONTRACT EXCEPT THOSE -PROVIDED IN PARAGRAPH 1.F.3. YOU AGREE THAT THE FOUNDATION, THE -TRADEMARK OWNER, AND ANY DISTRIBUTOR UNDER THIS AGREEMENT WILL NOT BE -LIABLE TO YOU FOR ACTUAL, DIRECT, INDIRECT, CONSEQUENTIAL, PUNITIVE OR -INCIDENTAL DAMAGES EVEN IF YOU GIVE NOTICE OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH -DAMAGE. - -1.F.3. LIMITED RIGHT OF REPLACEMENT OR REFUND - If you discover a -defect in this electronic work within 90 days of receiving it, you can -receive a refund of the money (if any) you paid for it by sending a -written explanation to the person you received the work from. If you -received the work on a physical medium, you must return the medium -with your written explanation. The person or entity that provided you -with the defective work may elect to provide a replacement copy in -lieu of a refund. If you received the work electronically, the person -or entity providing it to you may choose to give you a second -opportunity to receive the work electronically in lieu of a refund. If -the second copy is also defective, you may demand a refund in writing -without further opportunities to fix the problem. - -1.F.4. Except for the limited right of replacement or refund set forth -in paragraph 1.F.3, this work is provided to you 'AS-IS', WITH NO -OTHER WARRANTIES OF ANY KIND, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING BUT NOT -LIMITED TO WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR ANY PURPOSE. - -1.F.5. Some states do not allow disclaimers of certain implied -warranties or the exclusion or limitation of certain types of -damages. If any disclaimer or limitation set forth in this agreement -violates the law of the state applicable to this agreement, the -agreement shall be interpreted to make the maximum disclaimer or -limitation permitted by the applicable state law. The invalidity or -unenforceability of any provision of this agreement shall not void the -remaining provisions. - -1.F.6. INDEMNITY - You agree to indemnify and hold the Foundation, the -trademark owner, any agent or employee of the Foundation, anyone -providing copies of Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works in -accordance with this agreement, and any volunteers associated with the -production, promotion and distribution of Project Gutenberg-tm -electronic works, harmless from all liability, costs and expenses, -including legal fees, that arise directly or indirectly from any of -the following which you do or cause to occur: (a) distribution of this -or any Project Gutenberg-tm work, (b) alteration, modification, or -additions or deletions to any Project Gutenberg-tm work, and (c) any -Defect you cause. - -Section 2. Information about the Mission of Project Gutenberg-tm - -Project Gutenberg-tm is synonymous with the free distribution of -electronic works in formats readable by the widest variety of -computers including obsolete, old, middle-aged and new computers. It -exists because of the efforts of hundreds of volunteers and donations -from people in all walks of life. - -Volunteers and financial support to provide volunteers with the -assistance they need are critical to reaching Project Gutenberg-tm's -goals and ensuring that the Project Gutenberg-tm collection will -remain freely available for generations to come. In 2001, the Project -Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation was created to provide a secure -and permanent future for Project Gutenberg-tm and future -generations. To learn more about the Project Gutenberg Literary -Archive Foundation and how your efforts and donations can help, see -Sections 3 and 4 and the Foundation information page at -www.gutenberg.org - - - -Section 3. Information about the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation - -The Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation is a non profit -501(c)(3) educational corporation organized under the laws of the -state of Mississippi and granted tax exempt status by the Internal -Revenue Service. The Foundation's EIN or federal tax identification -number is 64-6221541. Contributions to the Project Gutenberg Literary -Archive Foundation are tax deductible to the full extent permitted by -U.S. federal laws and your state's laws. - -The Foundation's principal office is in Fairbanks, Alaska, with the -mailing address: PO Box 750175, Fairbanks, AK 99775, but its -volunteers and employees are scattered throughout numerous -locations. Its business office is located at 809 North 1500 West, Salt -Lake City, UT 84116, (801) 596-1887. Email contact links and up to -date contact information can be found at the Foundation's web site and -official page at www.gutenberg.org/contact - -For additional contact information: - - Dr. Gregory B. Newby - Chief Executive and Director - gbnewby@pglaf.org - -Section 4. Information about Donations to the Project Gutenberg -Literary Archive Foundation - -Project Gutenberg-tm depends upon and cannot survive without wide -spread public support and donations to carry out its mission of -increasing the number of public domain and licensed works that can be -freely distributed in machine readable form accessible by the widest -array of equipment including outdated equipment. Many small donations -($1 to $5,000) are particularly important to maintaining tax exempt -status with the IRS. - -The Foundation is committed to complying with the laws regulating -charities and charitable donations in all 50 states of the United -States. Compliance requirements are not uniform and it takes a -considerable effort, much paperwork and many fees to meet and keep up -with these requirements. We do not solicit donations in locations -where we have not received written confirmation of compliance. To SEND -DONATIONS or determine the status of compliance for any particular -state visit www.gutenberg.org/donate - -While we cannot and do not solicit contributions from states where we -have not met the solicitation requirements, we know of no prohibition -against accepting unsolicited donations from donors in such states who -approach us with offers to donate. - -International donations are gratefully accepted, but we cannot make -any statements concerning tax treatment of donations received from -outside the United States. U.S. laws alone swamp our small staff. - -Please check the Project Gutenberg Web pages for current donation -methods and addresses. Donations are accepted in a number of other -ways including checks, online payments and credit card donations. To -donate, please visit: www.gutenberg.org/donate - -Section 5. General Information About Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works. - -Professor Michael S. Hart was the originator of the Project -Gutenberg-tm concept of a library of electronic works that could be -freely shared with anyone. For forty years, he produced and -distributed Project Gutenberg-tm eBooks with only a loose network of -volunteer support. - -Project Gutenberg-tm eBooks are often created from several printed -editions, all of which are confirmed as not protected by copyright in -the U.S. unless a copyright notice is included. Thus, we do not -necessarily keep eBooks in compliance with any particular paper -edition. - -Most people start at our Web site which has the main PG search -facility: www.gutenberg.org - -This Web site includes information about Project Gutenberg-tm, -including how to make donations to the Project Gutenberg Literary -Archive Foundation, how to help produce our new eBooks, and how to -subscribe to our email newsletter to hear about new eBooks. - |
