summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/old/62845-0.txt
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
Diffstat (limited to 'old/62845-0.txt')
-rw-r--r--old/62845-0.txt2484
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 2484 deletions
diff --git a/old/62845-0.txt b/old/62845-0.txt
deleted file mode 100644
index 1642540..0000000
--- a/old/62845-0.txt
+++ /dev/null
@@ -1,2484 +0,0 @@
-The Project Gutenberg EBook of Pilgrim Guide Book to Plymouth,
-Massachusetts, by William F. Atwood
-
-This eBook is for the use of anyone anywhere in the United States and most
-other parts of the world at no cost and with almost no restrictions
-whatsoever. You may copy it, give it away or re-use it under the terms of
-the Project Gutenberg License included with this eBook or online at
-www.gutenberg.org. If you are not located in the United States, you'll have
-to check the laws of the country where you are located before using this ebook.
-
-Title: Pilgrim Guide Book to Plymouth, Massachusetts
- With a Brief Outline of The Pilgrim Migration and Settlement at Plymouth
-
-Author: William F. Atwood
-
-Release Date: August 4, 2020 [EBook #62845]
-
-Language: English
-
-Character set encoding: UTF-8
-
-*** START OF THIS PROJECT GUTENBERG EBOOK PILGRIM GUIDE BOOK TO PLYMOUTH, MASS ***
-
-
-
-
-Produced by Stephen Hutcheson and the Online Distributed
-Proofreading Team at https://www.pgdp.net
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
- OFFICIAL PILGRIM
- GUIDE BOOK
- To Plymouth, Massachusetts
-
-
- 25¢
-
- [Illustration: HISTORIC PILGRIM PLYMOUTH
- A GUIDE MAP SHOWING PRINCIPAL STREETS AND HISTORIC SHRINES]
-
-
-
-
- _Pilgrim_ GUIDE Book
- To
- PLYMOUTH
- MASSACHUSETTS
-
-
- _With a Brief Outline of The Pilgrim Migration and Settlement at
- Plymouth_
-
- _By_ William Franklin Atwood
-
-“_What your fathers with so much difficulty attained, do not basely
-relinquish._”
- Inscription on gravestone of Gov. William Bradford on Burial Hill.
-
- Copyright, 1940, by PAUL W. BITTINGER, Plymouth, Mass.
- All Rights Reserved.
- Sixth Edition, May, 1957
-
- [Illustration: Facsimile of original Seal of the Plymouth Colony. It
- disappeared during the administration of Sir Edmund Andros, who, in
- 1686 was sent by King James to rule over the Dominion of New
- England. It has never been recovered.]
-
-Note: Dates used, except those in quotations, accord with the new style
-calendar adopted by England in 1752, although having been in use in
-Holland since 1583.
-
- * * *
-
-
- PUBLISHER’S NOTE
-
-For those who may desire further information regarding the Pilgrims in
-England and Holland, their motives and aspirations leading to the
-migration and final settlement at Plymouth, reference is suggested to
-The Pilgrim Story, of the Pilgrim Book Series, a condensed history from
-the writings of Governor Bradford, Governor Winslow and other
-authoritative sources, by William F. Atwood.
-
- * * *
-
-Cover design by Leo Schrieber, Plymouth, Mass. Cover photo from oil
-painting in Pilgrim Hall depicting Departure of Pilgrims from
-Delfthaven. Illustration, inside front cover, scene of two modern
-Pilgrim Misses from annual Thanksgiving Pageant held in Plymouth
-Memorial Building on Thanksgiving Day.
-
- Published by
- THE MEMORIAL PRESS
- Plymouth, Mass.
-
- This publication is one in the Pilgrim Book Series.
-
-
-
-
- CONTENTS
-
-
- Page
- Brewster Garden 33
- Brewster Spring 34
- Burial Hill 16
- Old Fort 18
- Grave of William Bradford 21
- Site of Watch Tower 17
- Old Graves 19
- Cole’s Hill 40
- Court House 6
- Edward Winslow House 44
- Harlow House 61
- Howland House 59
- Industries 6
- Kendall Holmes House 62
- Leyden Street 32
- Massasoit Statue 43
- Mayflower Passengers 65
- Major John Bradford House 7
- Memorial Fountain 40
- Memorial Seat 42
- Morton Park 57
- National Monument to Forefathers 9
- Old Colony Club 5
- Pilgrim Hall 49
- Pilgrim Maiden 34
- Pilgrim Society 55
- Plimoth Plantation 13
- Plymouth Rock 37
- Plymouth Memorial Building 6
- Postoffice 6
- Registry of Deeds 47
- Sarcophagus 41
- Sandwich Street 60
- Sparrow House 57
- Standish Guards 6
- Summer Street 57
- Tabitha Plasket House 48
- Training Green 60
- The Compact 70
- Town Square and Churches 29
- Town Brook 32
- Watson’s Hill 56
-
- [Illustration: CARVER AND NORTH STREETS, LOOKING TOWARD SHIRLEY
- SQUARE—North Street was laid out before 1633, and has been variously
- called, in old deeds, New Street, Queen Street, North Street, and
- Howland Street. Carver Street, once part of North, runs around
- Cole’s Hill, and connects with Leyden, oldest Plymouth street.]
-
-
-
-
- PLYMOUTH—THE TOWN
-
-
- [Illustration: {Illustrated capital}]
-
-The Town of Plymouth, made famous as the permanent settlement of the
-Pilgrims, is the county seat of Plymouth County in southeastern
-Massachusetts. It is 37 miles southeast of Boston and is reached by
-rail, and by Routes north via the Old Colony Division of the N. Y., N.
-H. & H. R. R., and by automobile over routes No. 3 and No. 3A. It
-overlooks Cape Cod Bay and a well protected harbor. Its year ’round
-population is approximately 14,000. It has an area of 108 square miles,
-the largest in the State.
-
-In addition to its historical association and its old records, among
-which one may browse at pleasure, the town has a fine public school
-system, public library, many churches, an excellent water system,
-several banks and theatres, an adequate fire and police department, a
-modernized hospital and high quality of public service. There are fine
-bathing beaches and recreational centers, hotels and accommodation for
-tourists.
-
-Fraternal organizations are numerous. The Old Colony Club, organized
-1769, the oldest social organization in America, is located on Court
-Street, opposite the Court House. Other active societies are the
-Plymouth Woman’s Club, the Plymouth Antiquarian Society, the Cordage
-Men’s Club, the Plymouth Country Club, the Girls’ Club, the Boys’ Club,
-the New Century Club, and the Manomet Village Club.
-
-The Plymouth County Court House occupies a commanding position facing
-Court Street with the Registry of Deeds near at hand on North Russell
-Street and easily accessible to visitors. A new Federal Post Office
-Building stands at the historic corner of Leyden and Main Streets. A
-commodious armory on Court Street accommodates the National Guard. At
-one time this building was the headquarters of the Standish Guards, the
-local militia company organized and chartered in 1818.
-
-Opposite the armory is Plymouth’s Memorial Building, dedicated in 1926
-to the men of Plymouth who served in all the wars in which the country
-has been engaged. It has a large hall with a seating capacity of 2000
-and was built at a cost of $300,000. This building is a few steps north
-of Pilgrim Hall, that sacred depository of Pilgrimiana, a mecca for
-modern day Pilgrims, visited every year by thousands from the world
-over.
-
-The town has diversified industries. Its mills and factories are devoted
-principally to the production of high grade woolens, cordage, tacks and
-rivets, and zinc products.
-
- [Illustration: AN ISLAND IN ONE OF PLYMOUTH’S MANY PONDS]
-
-Over 300 ponds of sparkling clear water lie within the town’s
-boundaries, and these together with its woodlands offer almost unlimited
-facilities for hunting and fishing, while salt water fishing is equally
-available.
-
-Yes, Plymouth has much to offer as a place for permanent residence and
-as a summer resort.
-
-The door is open and the word is _Welcome_.
-
-Approaching Plymouth from the north and passing through Kingston, it is
-both convenient and of interest to visit the Major John Bradford House.
-This house stands on a knoll on Landing Road overlooking Jones River and
-the marshes. It was built in 1674 by Major John Bradford, son of Major
-William Bradford, Deputy Governor and Grandson of Governor William
-Bradford.
-
-_Legend:_
-
-During the King Philip War this house was partially burned while Major
-Bradford was moving his family to a place of safety. Upon his return
-Indians were seen surrounding the house, one of whom the Major shot
-while he was in the act of warning his comrades of the approach of the
-whites. This Indian, while wounded, crawled behind a fallen tree and
-some years later told Major Bradford of the circumstances of his escape,
-showing at the same time the bullet wound in his side received at the
-time.
-
-Another fact of interest is that this house gave shelter for something
-like twenty-five years to the now famous “History of Plimouth
-Plantation,” sometimes spoken of as the “Bradford History” written by
-Governor Bradford and preserved in the State House in Boston.
-
-Entering Plymouth through Court Street and passing the plant of the
-Plymouth Cordage Company, one comes to another old house. This house is
-known as the William Crowe House. It is located on the east side of the
-highway and was probably built in 1664 as in that year William Crowe
-married Hannah, daughter of the first Josiah Winslow. A deed dated 1665
-from Francis Billington to William Crowe refers to the estate “on which
-Mr. Crowe now lives.” This undoubtedly establishes the house as one of
-the very oldest of Plymouth’s old houses.
-
-Mr. Crowe’s widow married John Sturtevant. Her daughter Hannah
-Sturtevant married Josiah Cotton, a grandson of Rev. John Cotton. In
-1709 Mr. Cotton became the owner, and in 1723 built the two-story
-addition.
-
-Proceeding south through Court Street and turning west at Allerton or
-Cushman Street brings one to the National Monument of the Forefathers.
-
-... This monument, towering high in its massive splendor, occupies a
-commanding position overlooking the town and harbor, with Duxbury,
-Clark’s Island, the Saquish and the Gurnet in the background.
-
-The central figure is _Faith_, which stands on the main pedestal, one
-foot resting on a replica of Plymouth Rock. In the left hand is a Bible,
-while the right hand points heavenward. The whole attitude is symbolic
-of faith in a divine power, as the smaller statues below are
-representative of the principles enunciated by the Pilgrims themselves.
-
-The plan of the base is octagonal. There are four protruding wings, on
-each of which is a figure seated. One representing Morality holding the
-decalogue in the left hand and the scroll of Revelation in the right. On
-the one side is a Prophet and on the other the Evangelists.
-
-On the next pedestal is the figure representing Law with Justice on one
-side and Mercy on the other, symbolizing justice tempered with mercy.
-Education has on the one hand the wisdom of maturity and on the other
-Youth following experience. The fourth figure represents Freedom, a
-consequence of which is peace, represented on the one hand, while on the
-other is represented the overthrow of tyranny.
-
-The main pedestal has four polished faces, on two of which are inscribed
-the names of the Mayflower Pilgrims, while another bears the inscription
-“National Monument to the Forefathers. Erected by a grateful people in
-remembrance of their labors, sacrifices and sufferings for the cause of
-civil and religious liberty.” There is one panel left for future use.
-
-
- INTERESTING FACTS ABOUT THE MONUMENT
-
- Largest granite statue in the world.
- Designed by Hammatt Billings.
- Built of Maine granite.
- Cost $150,000.
- Statue of Faith cost $31,300; was given by late Gov. Oliver Ames.
- Other contributors: United States Government, States of
- Massachusetts and Connecticut, together with 11,000
- individuals of this and other countries.
- Corner stone laid August 1, 1859.
- Monument dedicated on August 1, 1889.
- Height from ground to top of head, 81 feet.
- Outstretched arm measures, from shoulder to elbow, 10 feet, 1½ inches;
- from elbow to tip of finger, 9 feet, 9 inches; total length of
- arm, 19 feet, 10½ inches.
- Circumference of head at forehead, 13 feet, 7 inches.
- Circumference of left arm below sleeve, 6 feet, 10 inches.
- Length of finger pointing upward, 2 feet, 1 inch.
- Circumference of finger, 1 foot, 8½ inches.
- Circumference of thumb, 1 foot, 8½ inches.
- Length of nose, 1 foot, 4 inches.
- 216 times life-size.
- Weight, 180 tons.
-
- [Illustration: JOHN ALDEN HOUSE, 1653, DUXBURY
-
- John Alden married Priscilla Mullins in 1622. They first lived in a
- log house below Burial Hill where their first three children were
- born. The family later moved to Duxbury where they built and
- occupied the present house. This house is open to visitors.]
-
- [Illustration: A CUTAWAY DRAWING of the original Mayflower by John
- Seamans of Weymouth, Mass., from plans drawn by William A. Baker,
- Hingham marine architect and authority on ancient ships.]
-
- KEY TO DRAWING
- 1 Main Deck
- 2 Galley
- 3 Upper Deck
- 4 Main Hatch
- 5 Forecastle
- 6 Waist
- 7 Bosun’s Stores
- 8 Shallop
- 9 Sail Store
- 10 Crew’s Quarters
- 11 Main Hold
- 12 Cargo
- 13 General Stores
- 14 Water Barrels
- 15 Spirits
- 16 Store
- 17 Cabins
- 18 Radio Room—A radio for the crossing was required by law.
- 19 Chart House
- 20 Steering Position
- 21 Gun Port
- 22 Main Deck
- 23 Upper Deck
- 24 Quarter Deck
- 25 Poop Deck
- 26 Beak
- 27 Bowsprit
- 28 Foretop
- 29 Maintop
- 30 Mizzenmast
- 31 Mainmast
- 32 Foremast
-
-
-
-
- PLIMOTH PLANTATION—MAYFLOWER II
-
-
- [Illustration: {Illustrated capital}]
-
-On a 100-acre tract, formerly part of the beautiful Hornblower estate, a
-replica of the Pilgrim First Street (now Leyden Street) with its
-original nineteen thatched dwellings is being erected under the auspices
-of Plimoth Plantation, Inc. When complete the project will have cost an
-estimated million dollars.
-
-Nearby, in a bend in the Eel River, is the permanent anchorage of the
-Mayflower II, an exact reproduction of the original Pilgrim ship, built
-and financed by popular subscription in England.
-
-The idea of reproducing a full-size, 92-foot 180-ton Mayflower replica
-was conceived during the North African fighting in World War II by a
-Londoner, Warwick Charlton. His dream was to memorialize the common
-heritage of English-speaking peoples, and to express his country’s
-gratitude for American aid in times of great stress.
-
-Mayflower II was constructed of English oak and Oregon pine at an
-ancient shipyard in Brixham, Devon, using plans drawn up, after five
-years of research, by William A. Baker, shipyard executive with
-Bethlehem Steel. More than a quarter million English people contributed
-shillings and pence to the Project Mayflower fund.
-
- [Illustration: PLIMOTH PLANTATION IN SOUTH PLYMOUTH
- This is how the replica of the original Pilgrim settlement will look
- when finished.
- Mayflower II is shown at its permanent anchorage in lower left
- center.]
-
- Museum
- Parking
- Fort
- Gardens
- Trading Post
- Indian Village
- Mayflower
- Grist Mill-Jenney
- Eel River Pond
- To the Ocean
-
-The Pilgrim village is located on a park-like site sloping up from Eel
-River. When complete it will include a trading post, grist mill, Indian
-village, and a fort meeting house, as well as dwellings identical with
-those occupied by Governor Bradford, Elder Brewster, Myles Standish,
-John Alden, and the rest. The work is being supervised by Charles R.
-Strickland, Plimoth Plantation architect.
-
-The Plantation homes are designed to have the vertical planked siding,
-thatched roofs, and sheepskin parchment windows of Tudor times. They are
-being furnished with trestle tables, benches, trundle beds, sea chests,
-and the like. Women in costume working at old looms will weave
-linsey-woolsey, and dye it with butternut hull and hemlock bark
-decoctions.
-
-Mayflower II comes to its permanent berth in the Eel River after an
-Atlantic crossing, and exhibitions at New York and elsewhere, under the
-command of Alan Villiers, of grain-ship fame. The ship will symbolize
-the wellsprings of American democracy. It will vividly recall the ideas
-forever shrined in the Compact, whereby the little company of dissenters
-bound themselves to live together by the law and under God.
-
-All America will want to see how their nation was cradled, and so more
-keenly appreciate the noble tradition to which they are heir.
-
-
-
-
- BURIAL HILL
-
-
- [Illustration: CANNON OF THE PILGRIM ERA ON BURIAL HILL]
-
- [Illustration: {Illustrated capital}]
-
-Leaving the Monument and passing south through Allerton Street, crossing
-Samoset Street, and continuing straight over the hill to the Cornish and
-Burton Schools, we arrive at the northwest entrance to the old burial
-ground. Rising 165 feet above sea level this hill commands a fine view
-of the harbor and bay from Kingston and Duxbury on the north to the Pine
-Hills on the south. At the base of the hill is Town Square where in the
-immediate foreground rise the spires of the First Church (Unitarian) and
-the Church of the Pilgrimage, with Leyden Street leading to the harbor
-beyond.
-
- [Illustration: Site of the
- Watch Tower
- On Burial Hill
-
- Burial Hill, once called “Fort Hill,” is one of the most historic
- and beautiful spots in Pilgrim Plymouth. There are convenient seats
- under the shady trees where one can rest and look out over Plymouth
- Harbor and Cape Cod Bay. Here on the “Hill” are the graves of the
- early colonists, the site of the Watch Tower, the Replica of the
- Powder House, the site of the “Fort.” People come here from all over
- the world to search for the graves of their ancestors. The guide
- map, giving location of all the graves, which is included in the
- Pilgrim Book of Burial Hill and Its Epitaphs, is invaluable to those
- who wish to get the most out of their visit to Pilgrim Plymouth. In
- leaving Burial Hill by the Town Square entrance, note the view down
- Leyden Street, first street in New England, and remember that down
- this same path once walked the Pilgrims of Plymouth.]
-
- [Illustration: PLYMOUTH HARBOR AND CHURCH OF THE PILGRIMAGE
-
- From Burial Hill, where the early graves are located and where the
- Fort and Watch Tower and Powder House were built by the Pilgrims]
-
-From this vantage, and before the day of steam trawlers, Plymouthians
-have viewed the fleet of white-winged mackerel vessels as they sailed to
-and fro within easy vision against a background of blue sea.
-
-On clear days the sand dunes of Cape Cod as well as Provincetown may be
-seen.
-
-It was on this hill that the Pilgrims built their fort in 1622 and a
-watch tower in 1643 and another and larger fort during the King Philip
-War in 1675 as a defence against Indian attack.
-
-There is no record of its first use as a burial ground. There are six
-stones bearing dates of the 17th century, the oldest that of Edward Grey
-(1681). It is known that William Bradford died in 1657 and a monument
-erected in 1825 bears evidence to that fact. Also that John Howland died
-in 1672 and his present stone was erected (circa) 1850. It is presumable
-that there were many burials here prior to these dates, although the
-first burials were on Cole’s Hill just above the shore.
-
-
- A TRIBUTE IN VERSE FROM PILGRIM PLYMOUTH
-
- Oft’ have I stood on Plymouth’s sacred hill
- That overlooks both harbor and the town;
- Its first laid street, a Pilgrim mecca still,
- Steeped in historic precept and renown.
- Where bay in iridescence greets the eye,
- Flecked by ocean breeze and white-winged sail.
- While in the foreground looking toward the sky
- Are silent emblems of a past travail.
- Hallowed the ground whereon they humbly dwelt,
- Where now in honor sleep our reverend sires;
- Where once in life they oft’ devoutly knelt
- And asked for guidance only faith inspires.
- What wealth of legend, yea, what wealth of lore,
- Abounds along this tranquil Pilgrim shore!
-
-The oldest stones in order of dates on the hill are those of:
-
- Edward Grey 1681
- William Crowe 1683-4
- Hannah Clark 1687
- Thomas Cushman 1691
- Thomas Clark 1697
- The children of John and Josiah Cotton 1699
- The stone of Nathaniel Thomas 1697
-
- [Illustration: ONE OF MANY OLD STONES ON BURIAL HILL]
-
-There is a doubt concerning the last named as the inscription is now
-illegible, but his death is supposed to have occurred in 1697.
-
-Near the northwest entrance through which we entered is the replica of
-the old Powder House built in 1770 and later demolished. The present
-structure was a gift of the Massachusetts Society of the Sons of the
-American Revolution.
-
-Burial Hill was well chosen as the site of the first fort. As it was
-easily approachable from First Street (now Leyden) and commanded the
-surrounding territory for some distance in all directions, it served as
-an excellent defense against attack by Indians. The locations of the
-fort and watch tower are marked by appropriately inscribed tablets.
-
-But a few steps away to the north is the grave of Gov. William Bradford
-(numbered 32) over which stands a marble shaft erected in 1825, bearing
-the Latin inscription, the free translation of which is: “What our
-Fathers with so much difficulty attained, do not basely relinquish.”
-
-The inscription on the south side reads:
-
- H. I. William Bradford of Austerfield, Yorkshire, England. Was the son
- of William and Alice Bradford. He was Governor of Plymouth Colony from
- 1621 to 1633, 1635 to 1637, 1639 to 1643, 1645 to 1657.
-
-The inscription on the north side follows:
-
- Under this stone rest the ashes of William Bradford, a zealous Puritan
- and sincere Christian Gov. of Ply. Col. from 1621 to 1657, (the year
- he died, aged 69) except 5 yrs. which he declined.
-
-There is also a text in Hebrew, now almost obliterated, which has been
-translated,
-
- “Let the right hand of the Lord awake.”
-
-Descendants of Governor William Bradford are buried in the immediate
-vicinity.
-
-No. 33—Major William Bradford, Dep. Gov. of Plymouth Colony, and a son
-of Gov. Bradford. The inscription on this stone is as follows:
-
- Here lyes ye body of ye honorable Major William Bradford who expired
- Feb’ ye 20th. 1703-4 aged 79 years.
-
- He lived long, but still was doing good,
- And in his country’s service lost much blood,
- And a life well spent, he’s now at rest,
- His very name and memory is blest.
-
-At the grave of Joseph Bradford, another son, the inscription on the
-stone reads as follows:
-
- Here lyes ye body of Joseph Bradford, son of the late Honorable
- William Bradford, Esq., Governor of Plymouth Colony, who departed this
- life July the 10th, in the eighty-fifth year of his age.
-
-No. 35—Stone over the grave of John Howland, the last of the Mayflower
-passengers who lived in Plymouth. The inscription on this stone reads as
-follows:
-
- Here ended the Pilgrimage of John Howland, who died February 23,
- 1672-3 aged above 80 years. He married Elizabeth, daughter of John
- Tilley, who came with him in the Mayflower Dec. 1620. From them are
- descended a numerous posterity.
-
- “He was a godly man and an ancient professor in the wayes of Christ.
- Hee was one of the first comers into this land and was the last man
- that was left of those that came over in the Shipp called the
- Mayflower that lived in Plymouth.” (Plymouth Records.)
-
-No. 44—Stone at grave of William Crowe bearing dates 1683-84.
-
- For complete story of Burial Hill and detailed guide map showing name
- and location of all the graves the reader is referred to The Pilgrim
- Guide to Burial Hill and Its Epitaphs, available at most Plymouth
- stores. The map is indispensable in locating the graves.
-
-No. 40—Stone to Thomas Clark 1697.
-Stone to Hannah Clark 1697.
-
-Near the stone of Thomas Clark is stone to Nathaniel Clark, his son. The
-latter was a councilor to Sir Edward Andros, Governor of New England.
-
-No. 38—Stone to John Cotton 1699.
-
-Graves of the Cottons. Three sons of Rev. John Cotton and seven sons of
-Josiah Cotton.
-
-The Cushman gravestone 1691. This noted gravestone is one of the six
-bearing date in the seventeenth century. This ancient landmark was
-removed by the descendants of Elder Thomas Cushman to make room as they
-say “for a more enduring memorial.”
-
-The Cushman monument on the north side of the hill was erected in 1858
-in memory of Robert Cushman, his wife Mary, and Thomas Cushman, the
-latter for many years a ruling elder in the First Church.
-
-The foregoing are the oldest stones on the hill.
-
-Others are: No. 31—Thomas Faunce 1646-1745. Elder First Church
-1699-1745. Town Clerk 1685-1723.
-
-No. 36 is the grave of Nathaniel Jackson. The stone is the oldest
-Masonic stone on the hill. It is dated 1743.
-
-No. 37—Stone over the grave of Francis LeBaron 1704. The “Nameless
-Nobleman.”
-
-No. 41—Grave of sailors from brig Gen. Arnold who perished in Plymouth
-Harbor. James Magee of Boston was the unfortunate commander of this
-ill-fated ship. The site is marked by a monument erected through the
-generosity of Stephen Gale of Portland, Maine. This is on the west side
-of the hill.
-
-No. 42—Tabitha Plasket, June 10, 1807. (Epitaph on following page).
-
-No. 43—Gen. James Warren lot. Patriot and Soldier.
-
-No. 45—Site of fort built in 1622; the lower part was used for a church;
-also fort built in 1675—100 ft. square with palisades 10½ ft. high.
-
-There are many peculiar epitaphs, some in prose and some in verse, and
-expressive of about every shade and degree of sentiment. A few of these
-follow:
-
-(Blue stone, slate. Top and right-hand corner gone) Capt. Ellis Brews——
-and Nancy —— wife died Dec. 13, 189— aged —4 years (where lines appear
-letters and figures are obliterated). The name, however, is Brewster,
-and originally read—Son of:
-
- “He listen’d for a while to hear
- Our mortal griefs then turned his ear
- To angel harps and songs and cried
- To join their notes celestial sigh’d and dyed.”
-
-(Low blue slate. Sound and compact. Symbol). In memory of Frederic, son
-of Mr. Thomas Jackson and Mrs. Lucy, his wife who died March 15, 1788,
-aged 1 year and 5 days.
-
- O! happy Probationer! accepted, without being exercised!—It was thy
- peculiar Privilege not to feel the slightest of these Evils, which
- oppress thy surviving kindred.
-
-(Blue slate; pyramidal; good condition. At top bust of female under
-curtain drapery. The epitaph is from Young’s Night Thoughts,
-“Narcissa.”)
-
-Fanny Crombie, daughter of Mr. Calvin Crombie and Mrs. Naomi, his wife.
-Departed this life June 25th, 1804, in the 8th year of her age.
-
- As young as beautiful and soft as young
- And gay as soft and innocent as gay.
-
-Note: In quoting these epitaphs the writer has referred to book compiled
- in 1894 by the late Benjamin Drew of Plymouth.
-
-(Blue slate. Good condition. Weeping willow and urn.)
-
-To the memory of ISAAC COAL, son of Mr. Isaac Coal and Mrs. Sarah, his
-wife, who died Aug. 28, 1825, in the 17th year of his age.
-
- Friends and Physicians could not save
- His mortal body from the grave
- Nor can the grave confine him here
- When CHRIST shall call him to appear.
-
-(Blue slate. Good condition. Weeping willow and urn).
-
-In memory of Mrs. Tabitha Plasket, who died June 10, 1807, aged 64
-years.
-
- Adieu vain world I have seen enough of thee
- And I am careless what thou say’st of me
- Thy smiles I wish not;
- Nor the frowns I fear
- I am now at rest my head lies quiet here.
-
-(Stone of blue slate. Moss grown. Defaced. Cleft Broken Symbol.)
-
- —ere lyes Buried—body of Mrs. Sarah Atwood, wife of Deacon John ——
- died Jan. ye 22d 1725 in ye 37th year of her age.
-
-(Purplish blue slate. Nearly covered with moss. Symbol surrounded with
-blossoms.)
-
-The memory of the Just is Blessed.
-
- Here lyes the Body of Mr. John Atwood who died on the 6th of August A
- D 1754 AEtatis 70 years. He was a Man of Piety & Religion Adorned with
- every Christian grace & virtue & therefore well qualified for ye
- office of a Deacon which he discharged in ye first Church of Christ in
- this Town for about 40 Years with Honesty & uprightness and in the
- Course of his Life adorned the Doctrine of His Saviour by a well
- ordered Conversation.
-
-Some are truly inspirational as shown by the following:
-
-(White marble, fair condition, Urn.)
-
- Patience C. Holmes, Daug. of Nathan and Ruth Holmes. Died April 1,
- 1845, in her 24 y’r.
-
- “Shed not for her the bitter tear
- Nor give the heart to vain regret,
- ’Tis but the casket that lies here;
- The gem that fill’d it sparkles yet.”
-
-Monument
-
- In memory of Seventy two seamen who perished in Plymouth harbour on
- the 26 and 27 days of December 1778, on board the private armed Brig,
- Gen. Arnold, of twenty guns, James Magee of Boston, Commander, sixty
- of whom were buried on this spot.
-
-(On the northwesterly side.)
-
-Capt. James Magee died in Roxbury, February 4, 1801; aged 51 years.
-
-Note: This monument was erected by Stephen Gale of Portland, Maine, a
- stranger to them, as a memorial to their sufferings and death.
-
-One of the most recent burials here was that of Judge Thomas Russell who
-was buried here at his special request.
-
-Judge Russell was a native of Plymouth, the son of Thomas and Mary Ann
-(Goodwin) Russell. He was a noted jurist, was appointed by President
-Grant United States Minister to Venezuela and was President of the
-Pilgrim Society on the occasion of General Grant’s visit to Plymouth.
-His stone of native granite bears the inscription: Thomas Russell, born
-Sept. 26, 1825, Died Feb. 9, 1887.
-
-The brass cannons shown above are on the east side of Burial Hill near
-the site of the old fort. They were presented to the Town of Plymouth by
-the British Government as an expression of Good Will during the
-Tercentenary period and were transmitted through the Ancient and
-Honourable Artillery Company of London to the Ancient and Honorable
-Artillery Company of Massachusetts. On the right is a “Minion.” On the
-left a “Sakeret,” both of the mid-16th century era. They were formerly
-in the collection of the British National Artillery Museum and are
-similar to the cannons mounted on the first fort to protect the colony
-from attack of Indians.
-
- [Illustration: PILGRIMS PROGRESS, presented each Friday in August by
- the Plymouth Antiquarian Society. This is a colorful event,
- impressive and inspirational in its simplicity.]
-
-
-
-
- TOWN SQUARE AND CHURCHES
-
-
-Leaving the hill at the southeast slope and following down the terraced
-brick and granite walk, we step into Town Square. This is the logical
-center of the town and it may well be said, for generations the seat of
-government with the Town House on the south side, bearing its
-descriptive tablet. Just ahead is the first street leading to the water
-and reaching to the north is Main Street.
-
-Let us here face about. As we look up the square we face the First
-Church (Unitarian), so called by virtue of its succession of unbroken
-records, the oldest volume of which may be seen in Pilgrim Hall. This
-church was dedicated on Dec. 21, 1899. Its arched portal is an elaborate
-copy of the portal of the church at Austerfield, England, in which Gov.
-Bradford was christened. A tablet near the entrance bears the following
-inscription:
-
- The Church of Scrooby, Leyden, and the Mayflower gathered on this
- hillside in 1620, has ever since preserved unbroken records and
- maintained a continuous ministry, its first covenant being still the
- basis of its fellowship. In reverent memory of its Pilgrim founders
- this fifth meeting house was erected A. D. MDCCCXCVII.
-
-At the east end of the church is a memorial window representing John
-Robinson delivering his farewell address to the Pilgrims. This window is
-an artistic masterpiece. It was designed by Edward P. Sperry and since
-its installation it has been an object of much interest to visitors to
-Plymouth. Numerous other windows are commemorative of historic events.
-
-The wood church of Gothic design occupying this site previous to
-erection of the present edifice, was built in 1830 and was destroyed by
-fire on Nov. 22, 1892.
-
-On the right of the square is the Congregational Church, or Church of
-the Pilgrimage, erected in 1840, on which is a tablet with the following
-inscription:
-
- This tablet is inscribed in grateful memory of the Pilgrims and of
- their successors who, at the time of the Unitarian controversy in
- 1801, adhered to the belief of the Fathers, and on the basis of the
- original creed and covenant perpetuated, at great sacrifice, in the
- Church of the Pilgrimage, the evangelical faith and fellowship of the
- Church of Scrooby, Leyden, and the “Mayflower” organized in England in
- 1606.
-
-The first meeting house was erected in 1637 near the Gov. Bradford
-House. This building contained a bell, as did the more pretentious
-building erected in 1683 with its diamond leaded windows, Gothic roof,
-etc. In 1744 still another place of worship was erected nearer the site
-of the present First Church, and this remained until 1830, when the
-church that preceded the present church was built.
-
-Considering Town Square as a focal point, there are several divergent
-routes one may take, each contributing its legacy of historical
-interest.
-
- [Illustration: TOWN SQUARE—Old view. Looking down Church Lane.
- Leyden Street (first street) and ocean in distance.]
-
-
-
-
- LEYDEN STREET
-
-
-Let us now leave Town Square and wend our way along Leyden Street, so
-named in 1823, originally called First Street and later Great and Broad
-Street. On the right as we move easterly toward the water we see, on the
-site of the Elder Brewster homestead, the new Federal Building, in which
-is located the Customs House and Post Office. This is on the corner of
-Leyden Street and Main Street Extension, the latter extending over Town
-Brook referred to in Bradford’s History as “a very sweete brooke,” and
-which runs parallel with Leyden Street, emptying into the harbor just
-below.
-
- [Illustration: OLD LEYDEN STREET HOUSES
-
- With gardens bordering the brook, popularly called, after the Dutch,
- “Meersteads”]
-
- [Illustration: PILGRIM MAID AND POOL
- Brewster Gardens]
-
-
-
-
- BREWSTER GARDENS
- A BEAUTY SPOT
-
-
- [Illustration: {Illustrated capital}]
-
-A spot both picturesque and historical lies to the south of Leyden
-Street bordering Town Brook. It covers land first allotted to William
-Brewster, John Goodman and Peter Brown in the original lay-out. The
-gardens in the rear extended downwards to the brook.
-
-In the early days the estuary at the mouth of the stream was
-sufficiently wide and deep at high tide to permit the passing of fishing
-boats to what is now the third bridge. Many small craft “tied up” here
-during the winter months and periods of bad weather. Later a dam was
-built at the mouth of the stream and for generations water extended over
-an area of several acres.
-
-The reclamation of this area was a part of the Tercentenary program. It
-was drained and graded, and the brook now follows its natural course
-through the park, now known as Brewster Gardens. The old English or
-Dutch gardens in the rear of the houses fronting on Leyden Street
-present a decided contrast.
-
-Near the brook stands Henry H. Kitson’s statue of the Pilgrim Maiden
-mounted upon a native boulder and impressive in its sublimity. It seems
-to symbolize the courage and determination with which the adversities
-confronting the colonists were met and overcome. It was presented to the
-town by the National Society of New England Women, and bears the
-inscription—“To those intrepid English women, whose courage, fortitude
-and devotion brought a new nation into being, this statue of the Pilgrim
-Maiden is dedicated.”
-
-Close at hand is the spring that supplied “sweete water” in the days of
-the Pilgrims. Water from this spring has been piped to the street above
-and supplies a drinking fountain near the Post Office.
-
-A flight of stone steps designed by Fletcher Steele leads to this park.
-
-Another memorial not to be overlooked is the stone seat also designed by
-Fletcher Steele and presented to the town by the National Society of
-Daughters of the American Colonists who came in the ship Ann in 1623.
-
- [Illustration: PLYMOUTH POST OFFICE (Early Photo)
- Corner Leyden Street—First Street in New England]
-
-Much of the credit for reclaiming this area so closely associated with
-the lives of the Pilgrims and developing this beautiful park is due Mrs.
-William H. Forbes of Milton whose father, Ralph Waldo Emerson, married
-Miss Lidian Jackson, daughter of Charles Jackson, in the old Winslow
-House shown on another page. This park is reached from both Water Street
-and Main Street Extension.
-
-The points of greatest historical interest are so closely related in
-regard to location that to attempt to prescribe a definite route would
-be extremely difficult.
-
-The most important points of interest are within easy walking distance.
-As a suggestion, however, one might follow Water Street from Brewster
-Gardens north and find the historic Rock within a two minutes’ walk.
-
-During the Tercentenary celebration many changes were made in this
-section. The old wharves and buildings that had characterized this spot
-for generations, are gone and the immediate surroundings have been
-converted into a state reservation. It is a ground made sacred to the
-memory of the Pilgrims as is evidenced by the many memorials and markers
-in the vicinity, gifts of the various historical societies throughout
-the country.
-
- [Illustration: PERISTYLE OVER PLYMOUTH ROCK]
-
-
-
-
- PLYMOUTH ROCK
-
-
- [Illustration: {Illustrated capital}]
-
-The magnificent peristyle shown here was designed by the architects
-McKim, Mead & White and was a gift of the National Society of the
-Colonial Dames of America on the 300th anniversary of the Landing of the
-Pilgrims.
-
-It encloses the historic “Rock” on which the Pilgrims first set foot.
-The foundation wall is open on the water side allowing the free wash of
-the flood tides around the rock as it lies in its original bed.
-
- [Illustration: PLYMOUTH ROCK—A NATIONAL SHRINE]
-
-Plymouth Rock, emblematic and suggestive of the Pilgrim associations has
-been viewed by countless thousands of people, not only from our own
-states, but the world over. It has been photographed, painted, and
-reproduced in bronze. On this rock the Pilgrims first stepped foot,
-December 21st, 1620. To those who may be prone to scepticism it can be
-stated that its interesting history has been handed down from generation
-to generation from Elder Thomas Faunce, who was born in Plymouth in
-1647, and who died in 1746, aged 99 years. A few years before his death,
-at a time when removal or covering up of the rock was under
-contemplation, he made vigorous protest at what he termed the
-desecration of an object of deep veneration, stating that his father,
-John Faunce, who came over in the Ann in 1623, had told him that it was
-on that rock that the forefathers landed, as stated by them to him.
-
-It is further possible that an early age some of the eldest of the
-Mayflower passengers may have imparted this information to Elder Faunce
-directly. During the war of the Revolution, an attempt was made to
-remove the rock to Town Square, there to be viewed as an emblem of
-liberty, civic and religious. In the operation of lifting, the upper
-portion split away, leaving the base in its original bed. This top
-portion was, however, transferred to the square, where it remained until
-1834, when it was taken to Pilgrim Hall and placed within an iron fence
-at the left of the entrance. In 1880 it was moved back and cemented to
-its original base.
-
-In the vicinity where the Rock now rests there were once many wharves
-and industrial enterprises. Plymouth was then an active and busy seaport
-but all this was changed when the Commonwealth of Massachusetts bought
-this land in 1920 and made it into a reservation.
-
-The memorial pictured below, standing close to the Rock and Peristyle,
-is symbolic of the part played by the women of the Plymouth Colony in
-shaping the destinies of this, the first permanent settlement. Their
-courage and fortitude fill a glorious page in the annals of American
-colonization.
-
- [Illustration: MEMORIAL FOUNTAIN
- By C. T. Jennewein
-
- “Erected by the National Society Daughters of the American
- Revolution in Memory of the Heroic Women of the Mayflower
- 1620-1920.”]
-
-
-
-
- COLE’S HILL
-
-
- [Illustration: {Illustrated capital}]
-
-Rising directly back of the landing place is Cole’s Hill, named after
-James Cole who settled here in 1633 and who died in Plymouth in 1692.
-Here lie those who died the first fateful winter. The hardships of the
-voyage and the lack of proper accommodations after the landing developed
-much sickness, which made frightful inroads on the little colony, their
-number being reduced one-half during the first few months, and those
-remaining being “scarce able to bury the dead.”
-
- [Illustration: SARCOPHAGUS—COLE’S HILL]
-
-They were reduced so fast and to such an extent that it was deemed wise
-to conceal the graves, so they planted corn that Indians might remain in
-ignorance of their great losses. At various times in the process of
-excavating, human remains have been uncovered. These were carefully
-re-interred and a granite slab bearing an appropriate inscription now
-marks the spot and conveys to the visitor a mute attest to the
-sacrifices of those who contributed their part in shaping the destinies
-of our country.
-
-Remains that were found during excavations for a water main on Carver
-Street in 1855 were, upon their identification as those of the Caucasian
-race as distinguished from the native Indians, placed in a vault on
-Burial Hill. Later, upon completion of the canopy over Plymouth Rock in
-1867, they were placed in a receptacle in the top of that memorial. They
-now repose in the Sarcophagus erected under the direction and at the
-expense of the General Society of Mayflower Descendants.
-
-During the Revolutionary War and the War of 1812 batteries were
-implanted on the brow of the hill to protect the town from approach by
-water.
-
-A memorial seat on Cole’s Hill was erected in 1917 by the descendants
-and to the memory of James Cole, born in London, England, 1600. Died
-Plymouth, 1692. First settled on Cole’s Hill, 1633. A soldier in Pequot
-War, 1637.
-
-Occupying a commanding position on Cole’s Hill is the statue of
-Massasoit, chief of the Wampanoags and friend of the colonists.
-
-It was done in bronze by Cyrus Dallin and is mounted upon a native
-boulder with a tablet bearing the following inscription:
-
- Massasoit
- Great Sachem
- of the
- Wampanoags
- Protector and
- Preserver of the
- Pilgrims
- 1621
- Erected by the
- International
- Order of Red
- Men as a
- Grateful Tribute
- 1921
-
- [Illustration: MASSASOIT
- “Friend of the Pilgrims”]
-
- [Illustration: THE EDWARD WINSLOW HOUSE]
-
-Winslow Street curves north from lower North Street and enters Water
-Street a short distance beyond. At the apex of the curve stands the
-house built in 1754 by Edward Winslow, great-grandson of Gov. Edward
-Winslow of the Plymouth Colony. The timbers used in its construction
-were brought from England. As shown, the house is an elaboration of the
-house in its original form. The trees in front of the house were planted
-by Edward Winslow’s daughter in 1760.
-
-This property has been acquired by the National Society of Mayflower
-Descendants.
-
-The above picture shows the Winslow House in its reconstruction. It was
-in this house that Ralph Waldo Emerson married Miss Lidian Jackson,
-daughter of Charles and Lucy (Cotton) Jackson who, at the time, occupied
-the house. It was later the residence of Rev. George Ware Briggs, long
-identified with the First Church in Plymouth.
-
-Passing up North Street, shaded by its arch of lindens, we come to the
-house of Gen. John Winslow, built in 1730. This building stands at the
-corner of Main and North Streets and is now a business block. It was
-upon Gen. Winslow, who was a brother of Edward Winslow, that fell the
-unpleasant burden of removing the neutral Arcadians from Nova Scotia.
-This historic building was later the home of James Warren, President of
-the Provincial Congress, who married Mercy Otis, sister of James Otis,
-the brilliant champion of American rights.
-
-We are now in Shirley Square, the town’s business center.
-
-It may be observed that North Street and Leyden Street run parallel
-toward the water, Carver Street following the curve on Cole’s Hill
-connecting with both streets at the north and south sides of the hill.
-Middle Street, starting at Main, runs between North and Leyden Streets
-and ends at the hill.
-
-To those who have not visited Plymouth in recent years, the transition
-of Court and North Streets from their quiet residential charm, to
-avenues of commercial enterprise, will be noticeable. It is the
-inevitable contribution to expansion and progress.
-
-Let us turn right here and proceed north on Court Street. A few steps
-takes us to the Plymouth County Court House and the Registry of Deeds.
-
-The Plymouth County Court House stands between North and South Russell
-Streets with its wide expanse of lawn extending to Court Street. From
-here one looks down Brewster Street to the harbor. On the northerly
-corner of Brewster and Court Streets is the Methodist Church. On the
-southerly corner, the home of the Old Colony Club.
-
-The Court House was erected in 1820 and was remodeled in 1857. It
-contains, beside the court rooms, accommodations for the various county
-offices.
-
-During recent years the houses on the south side of South Russell Street
-running westerly from School Street have been removed and Burial Hill
-has been extended to the corner. This change brings the historic hill
-into view across the Court House lawn as one approaches from the north.
-
-
-
-
- THE REGISTRY OF DEEDS
-
-
- [Illustration: {Illustrated capital}]
-
-On North Russell Street stands the Registry of Deeds, a fireproof
-building erected in 1904. To the antiquarian and those interested in
-historical data, this building would rank next to Pilgrim Hall, if not
-first in importance. It contains papers of unusual interest, including
-many signed by Pilgrim hands, as well as those bearing the identifying
-signs or marks of the native Indians.
-
-There are deeds in the native language, Gov. Bradford’s order for trial
-by jury, various laws pertaining to the guidance of the colony and of
-the division of land, including a plan of the laying out of the first
-street (now Leyden Street).
-
-The second patent, dated 1629, granted by the Earl of Warwick, may be
-seen in the original box in which it came from England.
-
-The distribution of milk from the cows imported from England is even
-provided for. This was a matter of much concern as the supply was short
-and the demand great, to which these papers bear attest. The Registry of
-Probate occupies the second floor of the building.
-
-Continuing along Court Street to Chilton Street we come to Pilgrim Hall,
-stopping at the Tabitha Plasket House on the way.
-
- [Illustration: TABITHA PLASKET HOUSE]
-
-This house, pictured above, was built in 1722 by Consider Howland,
-great-grandson of John Howland, who came in the Mayflower. A
-considerable part of the original structure still remains. It was
-occupied for some years by Tabitha Plasket, said to have been the first
-woman school teacher, and a person of strong personality and rigorous
-discipline. It is recorded that she hung unruly scholars to the wall by
-placing a skein of yarn under the arms as a corrective measure. The
-house is located on the east side of Court Street, between the Court
-House and Pilgrim Hall.
-
- [Illustration: PILGRIM HALL]
-
- [Illustration: {Illustrated capital}]
-
-One is awakened to the realism of the early life of the Colony with a
-visit to Pilgrim Hall, that shrine of all lovers of Pilgrim history,
-where repose many articles brought over in the Mayflower and closely
-associated with the daily life of the Pilgrims.
-
- [Illustration: INTERIOR VIEW OF PILGRIM HALL MUSEUM]
-
-This building on the easterly side of Court Street, a short distance
-north of the Court House, was erected by the Pilgrim Society in 1824 in
-memory of the Pilgrims and as a depository for historical relics; In
-1880 material improvements were made in the original structure, largely
-through the generosity of the late Joseph Henry Stickney of Baltimore
-who had always taken an intense interest in matters concerning the early
-colony. At the time, the top portion of Plymouth Rock, which had for 46
-years been resting at one side of the entrance to the hall, the latter
-part of the time enclosed by an iron fence, was moved back to its
-original bed and placed on the base where it has since remained. Later
-in 1911-12 the Pilgrim Society spent approximately $15,000 in completing
-the work already inaugurated by Mr. Stickney, making the building
-practically fireproof with its steel beams, terra cotta and cement
-tiles, marble floors, etc. Its Doric portico is impressive in its
-dignity and will be easily recognized as one approaches from either
-direction.
-
- [Illustration: MAYFLOWER FOUNTAIN
-
- Located in garden in rear of Pilgrim Hall. Gift of the General
- Society Daughters of the Revolution]
-
-
- AN HISTORICAL COLLECTION
-
-The following are only a few of the interesting treasures within the
-hall:
-
-Picture of the “Landing,” in vestibule of Hall. Given by R. G. Shaw of
-Boston.
-
-Picture of the “Landing,” 13 x 16 feet, by Henry Sargent of Boston and
-presented by him in 1834. On east wall of hall.
-
-Copy of Weir’s Embarkation from Delft Haven. Painted by Edgar Parker.
-South wall of hall.
-
-Departure from Delft Haven, by Charles Lucy. Presented by Alexander H.
-Rice, former governor of Massachusetts. This picture won first prize of
-one thousand guineas at an exhibition in England. Of great value. West
-wall.
-
-Original of Weir’s Embarkation of the Pilgrims from Delft Haven.
-Purchased by the Society in 1914 (Weir’s picture in the rotunda of the
-Capitol at Washington is an enlargement from this study).
-
-W. F. Halsall’s fine painting of the Mayflower in Plymouth Harbor hangs
-on the north wall inclosed by portraits of the Winslow family.
-
-Many engravings of historic interest, including the Signing of the
-Compact.
-
-Patent of the Plymouth Colony. This is the oldest state document in New
-England. It bears the date of June 1, 1621, was granted to John Peirce
-and came over in the ship Fortune in November, 1621. It shows the seals
-and signatures of the Duke of Lenox, the Marquis of Hamilton, the Earl
-of Warwick, Lord Sheffield and Sir Fernando Gorges. Several parts of
-this ancient document have broken away, including the seal of Hamilton
-and the seal and signature of John Peirce, the party of the second part
-thereto. This charter includes the territory in and around Cape Cod Bay,
-outside that allotted in the first charter which had covered the
-territory to the south in the neighborhood of the Virginia Capes. This
-second charter was granted by the Council for New England, which had
-been created by royal authority after the departure of the Pilgrims from
-Plymouth, England.
-
- [Illustration: GOV. CARVER’S CHAIR IN PILGRIM HALL MUSEUM]
-
-Bible of Governor William Bradford printed in Geneva in 1592.
-
-Chairs of Elder Brewster, Gov. Carver and Gov. Winslow.
-
-Carved back of pew taken from parish church at Scrooby, Eng.
-
-The famous sword of Captain Myles Standish dating back several centuries
-before the Christian era; captured from the Persians by the Saracens in
-637 at Jerusalem and bearing the inscription in Arabic, “With peace God
-ruled His slaves (creatures) and with the judgment of his arm He
-troubled the mighty of the wicked.”
-
-Portraits of Dr. James Tucker, first secretary of the Pilgrim Society;
-Joseph Henry Stickney, generous contributor to the Society, hanging over
-bronze tablet; George Washington; Edward Everett; Edward Winslow,
-Governor of Plymouth Colony in 1633-36-44; Josiah Winslow, son of Edward
-Winslow, Governor, 1673-1680; Penelope Winslow, wife of Governor Josiah;
-Gen. John Winslow (great grandson of Edward); Dr. Isaac Winslow. These
-portraits are grouped about the picture of the Mayflower (by Halsall),
-hanging on the north wall of the hall.
-
-Portrait of the Hon. Daniel Webster.
-
-Original manuscript, including Miss Felicia Heman’s “The Breaking Waves
-Dashed High.”
-
-In the fireproof annex, which holds the library, are over three thousand
-volumes of great value, dating back as far as 1559.
-
-There is a basement in which are stored relics of a somewhat later
-period. In fact, the building is so filled with interesting reminders of
-the early Colonial days that it would be useless to enumerate them here.
-There is a complete catalogue obtainable at the hall which will be a
-great aid to the visitor as each article is described in detail. The
-Hall is open daily to visitors. Admission twenty-five cents.
-
-
- THE PILGRIM SOCIETY
-
-The Pilgrim Society held its first meeting after incorporation in the
-Court House in Plymouth on May 18th, 1820, and elected Mr. Joshua Thomas
-its first president. It was the result of a previous meeting of Plymouth
-gentlemen at the home of Mr. Thomas, who were inspired with a desire to
-perpetuate the memory of the first settlers.
-
-Four years later the original home of the society was erected upon its
-present location and upon plans of Alexander Parris, architect of the
-Boston Cathedral of St. Paul. This building as before stated was
-remodeled in 1880 and the wing which now houses the library and other
-Pilgrimiana was added in 1904. The present granite facade was a gift of
-the New England Society in New York in 1922.
-
-Across the street from Pilgrim Hall and a little to the north is the
-Armory previously referred to, while a few steps beyond is St. Peter’s
-Catholic Church. At this point on the east side of Court Street is the
-Plymouth Memorial Building, also previously described. This building
-stands on the lot formerly occupied by the colonial residence built in
-1809 by Major William Hammett and later and for many years occupied by
-Mr. Thomas Hedge and family. When the erection of the Memorial Building
-was decided upon, this house was moved back and now faces Water Street
-and the harbor. It is reminiscent of the early 19th century and is
-maintained and kept open to visitors during the summer by the Plymouth
-Antiquarian Society.
-
-
- WATSON’S HILL
-
-Market Street, which parallels Main Street Extension, runs from Town
-Square southward, converging with Sandwich and Pleasant Streets at its
-base. Beyond and to the right is Watson’s Hill from which place
-Massasoit and his braves approached the settlement, crossing the brook
-at the ford below on their way to the Common House where the famous
-treaty was consummated. An excellent view of the town is to be had from
-this elevation, originally a corn field and for generations a section of
-attractive homes.
-
- [Illustration: OLD DOORWAYS ON SUMMER STREET]
-
-
- SUMMER STREET AND MORTON PARK
-
-Summer street leads westerly from Market Street, being one of the first
-streets laid out. Here may be seen two of the oldest houses in Plymouth,
-viz.: the Richard Sparrow House on the left of the street and a short
-distance from Market Street and the Leach House a few steps beyond at
-the Corner of Spring Street, once known as Spring Lane. This house was
-built by George Bonum in 1679.
-
-The Sparrow House is presumed to have been built by Richard Sparrow in
-1640. If so, it is the oldest house in Plymouth. Inside it is
-distinctive of the early 17th century era with its great fireplace and
-its brick oven.
-
-Note: Spring Street has been referred to as Spring Lane and Baptist
- Hill, the latter designation derived from the fact that a Baptist
- chapel occupied a lot for many years on the west side a few steps
- from Summer Street.
-
-This house is now used as craftsman’s shop by the Plymouth Potters, and
-is open to visitors.
-
-Plymouth Pottery is unique in that it is made up of local red-firing
-clay by former pupils of a State Vocational Project—now organized into a
-co-operative guild.
-
-Many pieces have an early American flavor and the hand-ground glazes
-give interesting and unusual effects. Many persons have called these
-pieces “heirlooms of the future.”
-
-Summer Street follows the brook along which were many manufacturing
-concerns a short generation ago. It leads to the wooded area of the town
-past Oak Grove and Pine Hills Cemeteries to Morton Park, a woodland
-sanctuary of nearly 340 acres situated about a mile from the town’s
-center. This land was given to the town by a group of Plymouth citizens
-in 1889, headed by Mr. Nathaniel Morton, who was himself a generous
-contributor.
-
-The Park includes two lakes of sparkling fresh water, Little Pond which
-covers approximately 40 acres and where accommodations are provided for
-picnics and bathing, and Billington Sea, covering an area of over three
-hundred acres.
-
- [Illustration: THE HOWLAND HOUSE—Built in 1666—Restored 1941
- The only house in Plymouth where Pilgrims once lived]
-
-
- THE TRAINING GREEN
-
-Lying just below Watson’s Hill between Pleasant Street on the west and
-Sandwich Street on the east, is an open square known as Training Green,
-from the fact that in the earlier days companies of militia were trained
-there in the manual of arms. In the center stands the Soldiers’
-Monument, erected in 1869 to the memory of Plymouth men who served in
-the army and navy and who gave their lives during the Civil War. This
-tract of land was used before the arrival of the Pilgrims by the Indians
-for growing corn. It has contributed its share of arrow heads and other
-Indian relics, as have the other hills and fields in the immediate
-neighborhood.
-
-
- SANDWICH STREET, OLD HOUSES
-
-Sandwich Street runs southeasterly from the foot of Market Street,
-formerly Spring Hill. Near this point on the west side of Sandwich
-Street, near the head of Water Street, is the Howland House, built in
-1666. It was the home of Jabez Howland, son of John Howland of the
-Mayflower, who died in 1672.
-
-This house is now owned by the Society of Howland Descendants which
-holds annual reunions for the purpose of keeping alive the family
-intercourse and the traditions of the early colonial days.
-
-
- THE HARLOW HOUSE
-
- [Illustration: HARLOW HOUSE (1677)
-
- The Harlow House, now a museum of 17th century life, is maintained
- by the Plymouth Antiquarian Society]
-
-Just beyond on the west side of Sandwich Street (No. 119) is the William
-Harlow House, built in 1677.
-
-A transfer of land on which this house stands is in the town records
-under date of July 29, 1669, as follows: “att this meeting a quarter of
-an acre of land was granted to William Harlow being a little Knowle or
-smale psell of land lying nere his now dwelling house on the westerly
-syde of the Road Way To sett a new house upon.” (sic) Timbers used in
-the construction of this house were taken from the old fort on Burial
-Hill.
-
-The Plymouth Antiquarian Society acquired this property with the object
-of preserving a fine example of the homes of the early settlement. Here
-may be seen the spinning wheel, the pots and kettles and other articles
-of domestic use necessary to the family upkeep three centuries and over
-ago.
-
-The Society also maintains the Antiquarian House on Water Street, which
-is preserved as it was in early Colonial days and is well worth a visit.
-
-
- THE KENDALL HOLMES HOUSE
-
-This house was built by William Harlow in 1654 and later acquired by
-Kendall Holmes. It is located on Winter Street, east of Sandwich Street.
-The house stands as originally built except for the ell which was added
-later. In both furnishings and construction it provides a fine example
-of the houses of the early colonial period.
-
-A short distance beyond is Jabez Corner. Here the roads diverge, the
-road to the right leading to Chiltonville, once known as Eel River, an
-attractive community village one and one-half miles distant.
-
-Straight ahead Warren Avenue follows the shore. This is one of
-Plymouth’s most picturesque and delightful residential sections with its
-view of harbor and bay, and its expanse of unbroken terrain as it slopes
-toward the water, all within easy access to the business center.
-
-One mile to the south is the Plymouth Beach Club and a short distance
-beyond at the point where Plymouth Beach extends along the inner harbor
-and Eel River enters the harbor, are the splendid facilities for public
-bathing provided by the Town of Plymouth. A half mile beyond, near Hotel
-Pilgrim, is the 18-hole golf course of the Plymouth Country Club, one of
-the finest in the country.
-
-Here the roads diverge again. The road to the left follows the shore,
-although at points high above the water, while the road to the right
-runs directly over the Pine Hills.
-
-These hills were included in the early division of land designated as
-the “Great Lots” in 1711-12, and later transferred by deed at various
-times and to various ownerships. At points they reach an altitude of 400
-feet above sea level. The roads running nearly parallel, meet at the
-point three miles south where the Manomet church stands at the southeast
-corner of the intersection.
-
-One-half mile to the east is White Horse Beach which, during the past
-few years, has developed into a large summer colony. The beach between
-White Horse and Manomet Point affords excellent bathing, and boats with
-tackle for sea fishing are readily obtainable.
-
-Nearby to the south is Hotel Mayflower, and at the “Point” below, the
-Manomet Coast Guard Station. Manomet Village lies to the west, and on
-the bluff overlooking the bay is Hotel Idlewild (formerly the Barstow
-House).
-
-Southward stretch wide acres of fields and meadows, hills and vales
-dotted here and there by farms and gardens, a variation of landscape
-that is typical of New England. Hundreds of acres devoted to cranberry
-culture may be seen from the highway, an indication of the high state of
-development this industry has reached.
-
-From many points of vantage along the entire shore, coastwise traffic
-via the Cape Cod Canal may be seen heading north and south.
-
-The Town of Plymouth is fortunate in having this wide expanse of
-adaptable terrain within its confines. The entire area with its scenic
-beauty, its woods, its lakes, its bay, its beaches, its rocks, its
-foliage and flowers, is a natural heritage, which, combined with man’s
-handiwork, is becoming more and more inviting, not only as a haven of
-rest and recreation, but as the ideal American homesite.
-
-
-
-
- THE MAYFLOWER PASSENGERS
-
-
- Prepared by George Ernest Bowman
- Editor of “The Mayflower Descendant”
-
-There were only one hundred and four (104) Mayflower Passengers. Every
-one of them is included in the two lists following. There were no other
-passengers.
-
-The 50 passengers from whom descent can be proved:
-
- John Alden
- Isaac Allerton
- wife Mary
- daughter Mary
- daughter Remember
- John Billington
- wife Eleanor
- son Francis
- William Bradford
- William Brewster
- wife Mary
- son Love
- Peter Brown
- James Chilton
- wife ——
- daughter Mary
- Francis Cooke
- son John
- Edward Doty
- Francis Eaton
- wife Sarah
- son Samuel
- Edward Fuller
- wife ——
- son Samuel
- Dr. Samuel Fuller
- Stephen Hopkins
- 2nd wife, Elizabeth
- son Gyles (by 1st wife)
- daughter Constance (by 1st wife)
- John Howland
- Richard More
- William Mullins
- wife Alice
- daughter Priscilla
- Degory Priest
- Thomas Rogers
- son Joseph
- Henry Samson
- George Soule
- Myles Standish
- John Tilley, and wife ——
- daughter Elizabeth
- Richard Warren
- William White
- wife Susanna
- son Resolved
- son Peregrine
- Edward Winslow
-
-The 54 passengers from whom descent cannot be proved.
-
- Bartholomew Allerton
- John Allerton
- John Billington
- Dorothy Bradford
- (1st wife of William)
- Wrestling Brewster
- Richard Britterige
- William Butten
- Robert Carter
- John Carver
- Katherine Carver
- (wife of John)
- Maid servant of the Carvers
- Richard Clarke
- Humility Cooper
- John Crakston
- son John
- —— Ely
- Thomas English
- Moses Fletcher
- Richard Gardiner
- John Goodman
- William Holbeck
- John Hooke
- Damaris Hopkins
- Oceanus Hopkins
- John Langmore
- William Latham
- Edward Leister
- Edmund Margeson
- Christopher Martin
- wife ——
- Desire Minter
- Ellen More
- Jasper More
- (a boy) More
- Joseph Mullins
- Solomon Prower
- John Rigdale
- wife Alice
- Rose Standish
- (1st wife of Myles)
- Elias Story
- Edward Thomson
- Edward Tilley
- wife Ann
- Thomas Tinker
- wife ——
- son ——
- William Trevore
- John Turner
- son ——
- son ——
- Roger Wilder
- Thomas Williams
- Elizabeth Winslow
- (1st wife of Edward)
- Gilbert Winslow
-
- [Illustration: {Illustrated capital}]
-
-The migration of the Pilgrim company was the result of years of friction
-between the adherents of the established Church of England with its
-perfunctory ritualisms and those who demanded the right to worship
-according to their conscience and the simplicity of the gospel as
-exemplified in the scriptures.
-
-This determined attitude on the part of the dissenters was met by
-arbitrary rulings on the part of the reigning monarch, King James I, of
-England and the bishops who received their support from the crown. The
-oppression became so great that in 1608 the congregation of the Pilgrim
-Church at Scrooby moved to Amsterdam, Holland, whence in 1609 they moved
-to Leyden, twenty-two miles distant. Here they remained for twelve
-years. It was a temporary refuge, however. There was the constantly
-growing fear of assimilation into Dutch life and habits as well as the
-absorption of a language foreign to themselves and their posterity. They
-preferred to remain English men and women although their relations had
-been friendly with the Dutch who commended their industry and their
-peaceful contacts. Nevertheless, King James was beginning to exercise
-his influence in the low countries again much to their discomfiture.
-
-Finally deciding to leave Leyden, application was made to the Virginia
-Company which had been established in 1606, and held patents to land
-along the Atlantic coast of North America from the 34th to 45th degrees
-of north latitude, for a patent to land suitable for settlement.
-
-Having secured their patent, estates were liquidated and, with the
-proceeds therefrom, together with money subscribed by the London
-company, styled the Merchant Adventurers, with whom they had formed a
-business alliance, the Speedwell, a small vessel of sixty tons, was
-secured and sent to Delfthaven to transport the colonists to Southampton
-where the Mayflower, a vessel of one hundred and eighty tons, was to
-join them.
-
-On the 15th of August, 1620, both vessels left Southampton, but the
-Speedwell proving unseaworthy, they were obliged to return, putting into
-the harbor of Dartmouth for repairs. A second attempt resulted in
-abandoning the Speedwell at Plymouth, from which port the Mayflower
-sailed alone on the 16th of September. After a tempestuous voyage of
-sixty-six days, refuge was taken in Cape Cod harbor (Provincetown) on
-November 21st, 1620.
-
-From here exploring parties set out in the shallop (small boat) to
-locate a suitable home site and on December 21st a landing was made at
-Plymouth, the Mayflower following on December 26th. And here a permanent
-settlement was established.
-
- [Illustration: THE DEPARTURE FOR AMERICA]
-
-As the patent they held covered land in the vicinity of the Virginia
-capes, and settlement was made outside the limits defined therein, a
-second patent was obtained covering land contiguous to Cape Cod Bay.
-This second patent was brought over in the Fortune in 1621 and is now
-preserved in Pilgrim Hall.
-
-It was while the Mayflower lay in Provincetown harbor that, to quote
-from Mourt’s Relation under date of November 23rd, 1620, “Our people
-went on shore to refresh themselves and our women to wash as they had
-great need.” This was on Monday, and is supposed to be the origin of our
-national “Wash Day.”
-
- [Illustration: SCENE OF LANDING]
-
-It was here also that the famous document referred to by Bradford as a
-“combination” but later known as the Compact was drawn and signed. This
-document has often been referred to as the genesis of our present form
-of constitutional government as expounded in the Constitution of the
-United States and later expressed by Lincoln as “of the people, by the
-people and for the people.” It anticipates future growth and development
-and the enactment of laws necessary to meet changing conditions as “by
-vertue hereof to enacte, constitute and frame such just & equall lawes,
-ordinances, Acts, constitutions & offices, from time to time, as shall
-be thought most meete & conuenient for ye generall good of ye Colonie.”
-(sic)
-
-It has been said of the Pilgrims that “They builded better than they
-knew.” This should not be interpreted too literally. They laid a solid
-foundation upon which future generations could and did build, and upon
-this foundation rests the security of the structure that is our present
-form of government.
-
-The literal text of this immortal document follows:
-
-
- THE COMPACT
- (Copied from Bradford’s “History of Plymouth Plantation”)
-
- [Illustration: {Illustrated capital}]
-
-In ye name of God Amen. We whose names are underwriten, the loyall
-subjects of our dread soueraigne Lord King James, by ye grace of God, of
-Great Britaine, Franc, & Ireland king, defender of ye faith, &c. Haueing
-undertaken, for ye glorie of God, and aduancemente of ye christian faith
-and honour of our king & countrie, a voyage to plant ye first colonie in
-ye Northerne parts of Virginia, doe by these presents solemnly & mutualy
-in ye presence of God, and one of another; couenant, & combine our
-selues togeather into a ciuill body politick; for our better ordering, &
-preseruation & furtherance of ye ends aforesaid; and by vertue hereof to
-enacte, constitute, and frame such just & equall lawes, ordinances,
-Acts, constitutions, & offices, from time to time, as shall be thought
-most meete & conuenient for ye generall good of ye Colonie; unto which
-we promise all due submission and obedience. In witness whereof we haue
-hereunder subscribed our names at Cap-Codd ye .11. of Nouember in ye
-year of ye raigne of our soueraigne Lord King James of England, France,
-& Ireland ye eighteenth, and of Scotland ye fiftie fourth. Ano: Dom.
-1620.
-
- John Carver
- William Bradford
- Edward Winslow
- William Brewster
- Isaac Allerton
- Myles Standish
- John Alden
- John Turner
- Francis Eaton
- James Chilton
- John Crakston
- John Billington
- Moses Fletcher
- John Goodman
- Samuel Fuller
- Christopher Martin
- William Mullins
- Degory Priest
- Thomas Williams
- Gilbert Winslow
- Edmund Margeson
- Peter Brown
- Richard Britterige
- George Soule
- Edward Tilley
- John Tilley
- Francis Cooke
- Thomas Rogers
- Thomas Tinker
- John Rigdale
- Edward Fuller
- Richard Clark
- Richard Gardiner
- John Allerton
- William White
- Richard Warren
- John Howland
- Stephen Hopkins
- Thomas English
- Edward Doty
- Edward Leister
-
-During the first year the colony was reduced nearly one-half through
-exposure and disease. These losses were later offset by arrivals in the
-Fortune in 1621 and the Little James in 1623.
-
-In April, 1621, a treaty was made with Massasoit, chief of the Wampanoag
-Indians, who occupied the surrounding territory. This was brought about
-through the good offices of Samoset and Squanto, two friendly Indians,
-the former having learned some English from contact with fishermen along
-the coast of Maine whence he had come, while the latter had been taken
-with a number of others by a Captain Hunt who had “got them under cover
-of trucking with them and carried them away and sold them as slaves.” He
-had made his escape and returned to his home with the Nausets on Cape
-Cod.
-
-This treaty was held inviolate during the life of Massasoit and
-thereafter until the outbreak of the King Philip War in 1675.
-Precautionary measures were taken however to protect the settlement, and
-in 1622 a fort was erected on Burial Hill. This was supplemented by a
-watch tower in 1643. During the King Philip War a larger fort was
-erected on the same site. Fortunately the Plymouth colony escaped Indian
-attack although in 1676 a small community to the south near Eel River
-was attacked and eleven settlers killed.
-
-It is hard to realize in these days of material comforts, not to speak
-of luxuries, the hardships of our forebears. It was a case of work for
-survival. And there must have been work for by December, 1621, “seven
-dwelling houses and four for the use of the plantation” had been
-erected. The harvest of 1621 had been successful and a season of
-Thanksgiving had been observed, wherein some of the friendly Indians had
-participated, this being the origin of our present Thanksgiving Day.
-
-Nevertheless their existence was fraught with uncertainties. Their
-stocks of provisions were soon depleted and the problem of food supply
-became one of increasing concern. The very life of the colony depended
-upon the success of their crops. Corn had become increasingly valuable,
-not only as an article of food but as a medium of exchange, the
-colonists having little or no money.
-
-Up to 1623 they worked together on company land, sharing the fruits of
-their combined labor. This year owing to the shortage of crops “they
-begane to think how they might raise as much corne as they could and
-abtaine a better crope than they had done that they might not still thus
-languish in miserie.”
-
-
- LAND DIVIDED
-
-And so “to every family was assigned a parcell of land according to the
-proportion of their number for that end (but made no provision for
-inheritance) and ranged all boys & youths under some family. This had
-very good success for it made all hands industrious, so as much more
-corne was planted then other waise would have bene by any means the
-Governor or any other could use.”
-
-This was followed the next season by a division of land wherein “to
-every person was given only one acre, to them and theirs, as near the
-towne as might be, and they had no more till the seven years were
-expired.”
-
-Note: This was in accordance, at least in spirit, with the imposed
- provisions of their contract with the English company of Merchant
- Adventurers who had financed their expedition.
-
-A further division of land, following a division of livestock, was made
-in 1627, wherein “every person or share should have 20 acres of land
-divided unto them, besides the single acres they had already.” (sic).
-
- —Quotations from Bradford’s History of Plymouth Plantation
-
-
- THEY CARRY ON
-
-Fortified by faith and grim determination the colonists carried on in
-the face of great adversity, yet getting more and more firmly
-established.
-
-In 1636, owing to the growth of the original colony or plantation and
-the establishment of separate settlements at Scituate and Duxbury, the
-purely democratic rule which had obtained under the Mayflower Compact,
-wherein matters pertaining to the interests of the colony were settled
-in general assembly, was superseded by a law passed providing for
-government by deputies representing the several towns.
-
-The first legislative body met in 1639 and brought together
-representatives from the outlying towns of Sandwich, Barnstable,
-Yarmouth, Taunton, Scituate, Duxbury and Plymouth.
-
-In 1643, for mutual interests and against the menace of Indian attack, a
-confederation was formed between the Plymouth and Massachusetts colonies
-in combination with Connecticut and New Haven as separate units, with
-authority vested in commissioners.
-
-This remained in force until 1672 when a new compact was made upon the
-union of Connecticut and New Haven, which gave less authority to the
-commissioners.
-
-In 1686 Sir Edmund Andros was sent by King James to rule over the
-Dominion of New England, to which in 1688 New York and New Jersey were
-added, the seat of government remaining in Boston.
-
-Conditions under Andros with his autocratic assumptions and restrictions
-were not pleasant. It is interesting to note in this connection that
-Clark’s Island which had for some time been used for the support of the
-poor, was turned over by Andros to one of his followers who had been
-attracted by its natural beauties.
-
-The ascension of William III to the throne of England in 1689 had much
-to do with shaping the destinies of the colonists. The regime of Andros
-continued until word was received that the landing of William, Prince of
-Orange, in England threatened the overthrow of the Stuart dynasty when
-the citizens of Boston revolted, took possession of a British ship in
-the harbor and overthrew the crown’s despotic representative. Plymouth
-again acquired Clark’s Island and later the proclamation of William and
-Mary established once more the freedom the colonists had previously
-enjoyed.
-
-In 1692 came the union of the Massachusetts Bay and Plymouth colonies.
-Sir William Phipps was appointed by the crown chief magistrate over the
-Massachusetts Colony with which the Plymouth Colony was united under one
-royal charter.
-
-
-
-
- [Illustration: A&P]
-
-
- The Light Refreshment
-
- [Illustration: Pepsi-Cola]
-
- Pepsi-Cola Bottling Co., Inc. of Plymouth
- 124 Sandwich St. Plymouth, Mass.
-
-
-
-
- PLYMOUTH ROPE, THE NATION’S SERVANT
-
-Plymouth ropes have helped to write exciting chapters in American
-history.
-
-Beginning in 1824, they have sailed the seven seas aboard packet and
-whalers, the China clippers and war privateers. Today they go aboard
-majestic ocean liners and modern battle ships. They’re even on the
-atomic powered submarines.
-
-The products of Plymouth Cordage Company are intertwined in many other
-phases of the American economy ... in agriculture and fishing, in the
-construction, manufacturing, aircraft and petroleum industries, the
-public utilities and numerous other fields.
-
-There’s a Plymouth rope serving the nation every minute of every day.
-
- PLYMOUTH CORDAGE COMPANY
- Plymouth, Massachusetts
- Established 1824
-
-
- [Illustration: {uncaptioned}]
-
- Myles Standish Restaurant
- •
- _Catering to Parties_
- •
- OPEN 10 A.M. to 10 P.M.
- •
- _Home Cooked Foods_
- •
- HALL’S CORNER
- Telephone Duxbury 800
-
-
-
-
- [Illustration: FIRST NATIONAL Stores]
-
-
- A PILGRIM DISCOVERY
-
- [Illustration: {uncaptioned}]
-
-Cranberries, growing wild on Cape Cod, were made into cranberry sauce by
-an unknown Pilgrim housewife. The Indians ate their cranberries raw, but
-the Pilgrim ladies stewed them with sugar as they did other fruits ...
-thus, cranberry sauce!
-
-Ocean Spray still follows this original, simple recipe in the
-preparation of famous Ocean Spray Cranberry Sauce. Ocean Spray Cranberry
-products: Jellied Sauce, Whole Sauce, Cranberry Juice Cocktail and
-Dietetic Cranberry as well as Fresh Cranberries in season make it
-possible to enjoy the flavor of cranberries all year ’round.
-
-
-
-
- [Illustration: OUR HOME SINCE JULY, 1952]
-
- Main Building 1803 Addition and Renovation 1952
- _Organized 1882—Federalized 1937_
-
-For 75 years this financial institution has contributed to the community
-welfare of Plymouth and vicinity. It has encouraged ... and made
-possible, home ownership for many. It has extended a financial helping
-hand to broaden the cultural, educational and social horizons of its
-citizens. It is aiding many to acquire security and independence through
-systematic saving. We welcome long term investment funds seeking sound
-placement at better than average yield.
-
- Each account insured up to $10,000
-
- Plymouth Federal Savings
- and Loan Association
- COURT AND RUSSELL STREETS
- PLYMOUTH, MASSACHUSETTS
-
-
-
-
- _Enjoy_ THIS TRIP ON A _Real Train_
- EDAVILLE RAILROAD
-
-
- [Illustration: {map}]
-
- A PHOTOGRAPHERS PARADISE
- SANTA’S WORKSHOP
- MT. URAH
- STEEPEST GRADE
- PARKING AREA
- PARKING AREA FOR THOUSANDS OF CARS
- CRANBERRY JUNCTION
- PARKING AREA
- CRANBERRY BOG
- BERRIES ARE SCOOPED AT HARVEST TIME IN SEPTEMBER
- PINE WOODS
- PEACEDALE A MINIATURE NEW ENGLAND VILLAGE
- LARGE RESERVOIR NEEDED TO FLOOD CRANBERRY BOGS IN TIME OF FROST
- CRANBERRY COVE
- PLANTATION CENTER
- EDAVILLE FLOAT BOAT
- THRILLS THOUSANDS AS IT SKIMS ALONG THE FLOODED BOGS TO STIR UP LOOSE
- CRANBERRIES
- DROPPED BY PICKERS DURING HARVEST TIME. IT’S PROPELLED BY AN AIRPLANE
- ENGINE AND PROPELLER.
- SUNSET VISTA
- SAVERY AVENUE—SAID TO BE THE FIRST DIVIDED HIGHWAY IN THE U.S.
- ROUTE 58
- TO ROUTE 25 AND CAPE COD
- TO ROUTE 44 AND PROVIDENCE, R.I.
- AND HISTORICAL PLYMOUTH, MASS.
- WHISTLE POST TRAIN WHISTLE BLOWS TWICE IN MEMORY OF THE LATE ELLIS D.
- ATWOOD, FOUNDER OF “EDAVILLE R. R.”
- EDAVILLE GENERAL OFFICES
- EDAVILLE STATION AND SNACK BAR
- PRIVATE RECEPTION CAR
- KIDDIES’ PLAYGROUND
- STEAM LOCOMOTIVE ON DISPLAY
- TURN TABLE
- WATER TANK
- #100 STEAM LOCOMOTIVE ON DISPLAY
- ENGINE HOUSE
- GIFT SHOP
- REPAIR DEPOT
- BARBECUE AREA SERVING A DELICIOUS CHICKEN ’N CRANBERRY BARBECUE
- RAILROAD MUSEUM ANTIQUE CARS, GUNS & FIRE EQUIPMENT
- FIRE TRUCK RIDES
- ICE CREAM & TONIC CONCESSION
- BATH HOUSE
- SWIMMING POOL
- PICNIC AREA
- REST ROOMS
- RECREATION FIELD (DIFFERENT EVENTS SUCH AS HORSE PULLS ARE PUT ON
- HERE)
- CRANBERRY BOGS ONE OF THE LARGEST INDEPENDENTLY OWNED PLANTATIONS IN
- THE UNITED STATES
- P.S. GREENWOOD
- PLYMOUTH, MASS.
-
- SCHEDULE
- TRAINS RUN DAILY
- April 6, 1957 thru Jan. 5, 1958
- (Subject to Change Without Notice)
-
- _All Main Highways from
- Boston and Cape Cod lead to_
- EDAVILLE RAILROAD
- RT. 58 • SOUTH CARVER • MASS.
-
-
-
-
- CONTENTS
-
-
- Exclusive Detailed Guide Map
- Location and Description of Historic Places Including:
-
-
-—Plymouth Rock
-
-—Pilgrim Hall
-
-—Howland House
-
-—Antiquarian House
-
-—Burial Hill
-
-—Cole’s Hill
-
-—Town Square
-
-—National Monument to the Forefathers
-
-—Old Fort
-
-—Pilgrim Progress
-
-—Pilgrim Maiden
-
-—The Compact
-
-—List of Mayflower Passengers
-
-—Town Square and Churches
-
-—Brief Chronicle of the Pilgrims
-
-
-And all else of interest.
-
- ILLUSTRATED
-
- [Illustration: Cover image]
-
-
-
-
- Transcriber’s Notes
-
-
-—Silently corrected a few typos.
-
-—Retained publication information from the printed edition: this eBook
- is public-domain in the country of publication.
-
-—In the text versions only, text in italics is delimited by
- _underscores_.
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-End of the Project Gutenberg EBook of Pilgrim Guide Book to Plymouth,
-Massachusetts, by William F. Atwood
-
-*** END OF THIS PROJECT GUTENBERG EBOOK PILGRIM GUIDE BOOK TO PLYMOUTH, MASS ***
-
-***** This file should be named 62845-0.txt or 62845-0.zip *****
-This and all associated files of various formats will be found in:
- http://www.gutenberg.org/6/2/8/4/62845/
-
-Produced by Stephen Hutcheson and the Online Distributed
-Proofreading Team at https://www.pgdp.net
-
-Updated editions will replace the previous one--the old editions will
-be renamed.
-
-Creating the works from print editions not protected by U.S. copyright
-law means that no one owns a United States copyright in these works,
-so the Foundation (and you!) can copy and distribute it in the United
-States without permission and without paying copyright
-royalties. Special rules, set forth in the General Terms of Use part
-of this license, apply to copying and distributing Project
-Gutenberg-tm electronic works to protect the PROJECT GUTENBERG-tm
-concept and trademark. Project Gutenberg is a registered trademark,
-and may not be used if you charge for the eBooks, unless you receive
-specific permission. If you do not charge anything for copies of this
-eBook, complying with the rules is very easy. You may use this eBook
-for nearly any purpose such as creation of derivative works, reports,
-performances and research. They may be modified and printed and given
-away--you may do practically ANYTHING in the United States with eBooks
-not protected by U.S. copyright law. Redistribution is subject to the
-trademark license, especially commercial redistribution.
-
-START: FULL LICENSE
-
-THE FULL PROJECT GUTENBERG LICENSE
-PLEASE READ THIS BEFORE YOU DISTRIBUTE OR USE THIS WORK
-
-To protect the Project Gutenberg-tm mission of promoting the free
-distribution of electronic works, by using or distributing this work
-(or any other work associated in any way with the phrase "Project
-Gutenberg"), you agree to comply with all the terms of the Full
-Project Gutenberg-tm License available with this file or online at
-www.gutenberg.org/license.
-
-Section 1. General Terms of Use and Redistributing Project
-Gutenberg-tm electronic works
-
-1.A. By reading or using any part of this Project Gutenberg-tm
-electronic work, you indicate that you have read, understand, agree to
-and accept all the terms of this license and intellectual property
-(trademark/copyright) agreement. If you do not agree to abide by all
-the terms of this agreement, you must cease using and return or
-destroy all copies of Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works in your
-possession. If you paid a fee for obtaining a copy of or access to a
-Project Gutenberg-tm electronic work and you do not agree to be bound
-by the terms of this agreement, you may obtain a refund from the
-person or entity to whom you paid the fee as set forth in paragraph
-1.E.8.
-
-1.B. "Project Gutenberg" is a registered trademark. It may only be
-used on or associated in any way with an electronic work by people who
-agree to be bound by the terms of this agreement. There are a few
-things that you can do with most Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works
-even without complying with the full terms of this agreement. See
-paragraph 1.C below. There are a lot of things you can do with Project
-Gutenberg-tm electronic works if you follow the terms of this
-agreement and help preserve free future access to Project Gutenberg-tm
-electronic works. See paragraph 1.E below.
-
-1.C. The Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation ("the
-Foundation" or PGLAF), owns a compilation copyright in the collection
-of Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works. Nearly all the individual
-works in the collection are in the public domain in the United
-States. If an individual work is unprotected by copyright law in the
-United States and you are located in the United States, we do not
-claim a right to prevent you from copying, distributing, performing,
-displaying or creating derivative works based on the work as long as
-all references to Project Gutenberg are removed. Of course, we hope
-that you will support the Project Gutenberg-tm mission of promoting
-free access to electronic works by freely sharing Project Gutenberg-tm
-works in compliance with the terms of this agreement for keeping the
-Project Gutenberg-tm name associated with the work. You can easily
-comply with the terms of this agreement by keeping this work in the
-same format with its attached full Project Gutenberg-tm License when
-you share it without charge with others.
-
-1.D. The copyright laws of the place where you are located also govern
-what you can do with this work. Copyright laws in most countries are
-in a constant state of change. If you are outside the United States,
-check the laws of your country in addition to the terms of this
-agreement before downloading, copying, displaying, performing,
-distributing or creating derivative works based on this work or any
-other Project Gutenberg-tm work. The Foundation makes no
-representations concerning the copyright status of any work in any
-country outside the United States.
-
-1.E. Unless you have removed all references to Project Gutenberg:
-
-1.E.1. The following sentence, with active links to, or other
-immediate access to, the full Project Gutenberg-tm License must appear
-prominently whenever any copy of a Project Gutenberg-tm work (any work
-on which the phrase "Project Gutenberg" appears, or with which the
-phrase "Project Gutenberg" is associated) is accessed, displayed,
-performed, viewed, copied or distributed:
-
- This eBook is for the use of anyone anywhere in the United States and
- most other parts of the world at no cost and with almost no
- restrictions whatsoever. You may copy it, give it away or re-use it
- under the terms of the Project Gutenberg License included with this
- eBook or online at www.gutenberg.org. If you are not located in the
- United States, you'll have to check the laws of the country where you
- are located before using this ebook.
-
-1.E.2. If an individual Project Gutenberg-tm electronic work is
-derived from texts not protected by U.S. copyright law (does not
-contain a notice indicating that it is posted with permission of the
-copyright holder), the work can be copied and distributed to anyone in
-the United States without paying any fees or charges. If you are
-redistributing or providing access to a work with the phrase "Project
-Gutenberg" associated with or appearing on the work, you must comply
-either with the requirements of paragraphs 1.E.1 through 1.E.7 or
-obtain permission for the use of the work and the Project Gutenberg-tm
-trademark as set forth in paragraphs 1.E.8 or 1.E.9.
-
-1.E.3. If an individual Project Gutenberg-tm electronic work is posted
-with the permission of the copyright holder, your use and distribution
-must comply with both paragraphs 1.E.1 through 1.E.7 and any
-additional terms imposed by the copyright holder. Additional terms
-will be linked to the Project Gutenberg-tm License for all works
-posted with the permission of the copyright holder found at the
-beginning of this work.
-
-1.E.4. Do not unlink or detach or remove the full Project Gutenberg-tm
-License terms from this work, or any files containing a part of this
-work or any other work associated with Project Gutenberg-tm.
-
-1.E.5. Do not copy, display, perform, distribute or redistribute this
-electronic work, or any part of this electronic work, without
-prominently displaying the sentence set forth in paragraph 1.E.1 with
-active links or immediate access to the full terms of the Project
-Gutenberg-tm License.
-
-1.E.6. You may convert to and distribute this work in any binary,
-compressed, marked up, nonproprietary or proprietary form, including
-any word processing or hypertext form. However, if you provide access
-to or distribute copies of a Project Gutenberg-tm work in a format
-other than "Plain Vanilla ASCII" or other format used in the official
-version posted on the official Project Gutenberg-tm web site
-(www.gutenberg.org), you must, at no additional cost, fee or expense
-to the user, provide a copy, a means of exporting a copy, or a means
-of obtaining a copy upon request, of the work in its original "Plain
-Vanilla ASCII" or other form. Any alternate format must include the
-full Project Gutenberg-tm License as specified in paragraph 1.E.1.
-
-1.E.7. Do not charge a fee for access to, viewing, displaying,
-performing, copying or distributing any Project Gutenberg-tm works
-unless you comply with paragraph 1.E.8 or 1.E.9.
-
-1.E.8. You may charge a reasonable fee for copies of or providing
-access to or distributing Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works
-provided that
-
-* You pay a royalty fee of 20% of the gross profits you derive from
- the use of Project Gutenberg-tm works calculated using the method
- you already use to calculate your applicable taxes. The fee is owed
- to the owner of the Project Gutenberg-tm trademark, but he has
- agreed to donate royalties under this paragraph to the Project
- Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation. Royalty payments must be paid
- within 60 days following each date on which you prepare (or are
- legally required to prepare) your periodic tax returns. Royalty
- payments should be clearly marked as such and sent to the Project
- Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation at the address specified in
- Section 4, "Information about donations to the Project Gutenberg
- Literary Archive Foundation."
-
-* You provide a full refund of any money paid by a user who notifies
- you in writing (or by e-mail) within 30 days of receipt that s/he
- does not agree to the terms of the full Project Gutenberg-tm
- License. You must require such a user to return or destroy all
- copies of the works possessed in a physical medium and discontinue
- all use of and all access to other copies of Project Gutenberg-tm
- works.
-
-* You provide, in accordance with paragraph 1.F.3, a full refund of
- any money paid for a work or a replacement copy, if a defect in the
- electronic work is discovered and reported to you within 90 days of
- receipt of the work.
-
-* You comply with all other terms of this agreement for free
- distribution of Project Gutenberg-tm works.
-
-1.E.9. If you wish to charge a fee or distribute a Project
-Gutenberg-tm electronic work or group of works on different terms than
-are set forth in this agreement, you must obtain permission in writing
-from both the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation and The
-Project Gutenberg Trademark LLC, the owner of the Project Gutenberg-tm
-trademark. Contact the Foundation as set forth in Section 3 below.
-
-1.F.
-
-1.F.1. Project Gutenberg volunteers and employees expend considerable
-effort to identify, do copyright research on, transcribe and proofread
-works not protected by U.S. copyright law in creating the Project
-Gutenberg-tm collection. Despite these efforts, Project Gutenberg-tm
-electronic works, and the medium on which they may be stored, may
-contain "Defects," such as, but not limited to, incomplete, inaccurate
-or corrupt data, transcription errors, a copyright or other
-intellectual property infringement, a defective or damaged disk or
-other medium, a computer virus, or computer codes that damage or
-cannot be read by your equipment.
-
-1.F.2. LIMITED WARRANTY, DISCLAIMER OF DAMAGES - Except for the "Right
-of Replacement or Refund" described in paragraph 1.F.3, the Project
-Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation, the owner of the Project
-Gutenberg-tm trademark, and any other party distributing a Project
-Gutenberg-tm electronic work under this agreement, disclaim all
-liability to you for damages, costs and expenses, including legal
-fees. YOU AGREE THAT YOU HAVE NO REMEDIES FOR NEGLIGENCE, STRICT
-LIABILITY, BREACH OF WARRANTY OR BREACH OF CONTRACT EXCEPT THOSE
-PROVIDED IN PARAGRAPH 1.F.3. YOU AGREE THAT THE FOUNDATION, THE
-TRADEMARK OWNER, AND ANY DISTRIBUTOR UNDER THIS AGREEMENT WILL NOT BE
-LIABLE TO YOU FOR ACTUAL, DIRECT, INDIRECT, CONSEQUENTIAL, PUNITIVE OR
-INCIDENTAL DAMAGES EVEN IF YOU GIVE NOTICE OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH
-DAMAGE.
-
-1.F.3. LIMITED RIGHT OF REPLACEMENT OR REFUND - If you discover a
-defect in this electronic work within 90 days of receiving it, you can
-receive a refund of the money (if any) you paid for it by sending a
-written explanation to the person you received the work from. If you
-received the work on a physical medium, you must return the medium
-with your written explanation. The person or entity that provided you
-with the defective work may elect to provide a replacement copy in
-lieu of a refund. If you received the work electronically, the person
-or entity providing it to you may choose to give you a second
-opportunity to receive the work electronically in lieu of a refund. If
-the second copy is also defective, you may demand a refund in writing
-without further opportunities to fix the problem.
-
-1.F.4. Except for the limited right of replacement or refund set forth
-in paragraph 1.F.3, this work is provided to you 'AS-IS', WITH NO
-OTHER WARRANTIES OF ANY KIND, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING BUT NOT
-LIMITED TO WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR ANY PURPOSE.
-
-1.F.5. Some states do not allow disclaimers of certain implied
-warranties or the exclusion or limitation of certain types of
-damages. If any disclaimer or limitation set forth in this agreement
-violates the law of the state applicable to this agreement, the
-agreement shall be interpreted to make the maximum disclaimer or
-limitation permitted by the applicable state law. The invalidity or
-unenforceability of any provision of this agreement shall not void the
-remaining provisions.
-
-1.F.6. INDEMNITY - You agree to indemnify and hold the Foundation, the
-trademark owner, any agent or employee of the Foundation, anyone
-providing copies of Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works in
-accordance with this agreement, and any volunteers associated with the
-production, promotion and distribution of Project Gutenberg-tm
-electronic works, harmless from all liability, costs and expenses,
-including legal fees, that arise directly or indirectly from any of
-the following which you do or cause to occur: (a) distribution of this
-or any Project Gutenberg-tm work, (b) alteration, modification, or
-additions or deletions to any Project Gutenberg-tm work, and (c) any
-Defect you cause.
-
-Section 2. Information about the Mission of Project Gutenberg-tm
-
-Project Gutenberg-tm is synonymous with the free distribution of
-electronic works in formats readable by the widest variety of
-computers including obsolete, old, middle-aged and new computers. It
-exists because of the efforts of hundreds of volunteers and donations
-from people in all walks of life.
-
-Volunteers and financial support to provide volunteers with the
-assistance they need are critical to reaching Project Gutenberg-tm's
-goals and ensuring that the Project Gutenberg-tm collection will
-remain freely available for generations to come. In 2001, the Project
-Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation was created to provide a secure
-and permanent future for Project Gutenberg-tm and future
-generations. To learn more about the Project Gutenberg Literary
-Archive Foundation and how your efforts and donations can help, see
-Sections 3 and 4 and the Foundation information page at
-www.gutenberg.org
-
-
-
-Section 3. Information about the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation
-
-The Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation is a non profit
-501(c)(3) educational corporation organized under the laws of the
-state of Mississippi and granted tax exempt status by the Internal
-Revenue Service. The Foundation's EIN or federal tax identification
-number is 64-6221541. Contributions to the Project Gutenberg Literary
-Archive Foundation are tax deductible to the full extent permitted by
-U.S. federal laws and your state's laws.
-
-The Foundation's principal office is in Fairbanks, Alaska, with the
-mailing address: PO Box 750175, Fairbanks, AK 99775, but its
-volunteers and employees are scattered throughout numerous
-locations. Its business office is located at 809 North 1500 West, Salt
-Lake City, UT 84116, (801) 596-1887. Email contact links and up to
-date contact information can be found at the Foundation's web site and
-official page at www.gutenberg.org/contact
-
-For additional contact information:
-
- Dr. Gregory B. Newby
- Chief Executive and Director
- gbnewby@pglaf.org
-
-Section 4. Information about Donations to the Project Gutenberg
-Literary Archive Foundation
-
-Project Gutenberg-tm depends upon and cannot survive without wide
-spread public support and donations to carry out its mission of
-increasing the number of public domain and licensed works that can be
-freely distributed in machine readable form accessible by the widest
-array of equipment including outdated equipment. Many small donations
-($1 to $5,000) are particularly important to maintaining tax exempt
-status with the IRS.
-
-The Foundation is committed to complying with the laws regulating
-charities and charitable donations in all 50 states of the United
-States. Compliance requirements are not uniform and it takes a
-considerable effort, much paperwork and many fees to meet and keep up
-with these requirements. We do not solicit donations in locations
-where we have not received written confirmation of compliance. To SEND
-DONATIONS or determine the status of compliance for any particular
-state visit www.gutenberg.org/donate
-
-While we cannot and do not solicit contributions from states where we
-have not met the solicitation requirements, we know of no prohibition
-against accepting unsolicited donations from donors in such states who
-approach us with offers to donate.
-
-International donations are gratefully accepted, but we cannot make
-any statements concerning tax treatment of donations received from
-outside the United States. U.S. laws alone swamp our small staff.
-
-Please check the Project Gutenberg Web pages for current donation
-methods and addresses. Donations are accepted in a number of other
-ways including checks, online payments and credit card donations. To
-donate, please visit: www.gutenberg.org/donate
-
-Section 5. General Information About Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works.
-
-Professor Michael S. Hart was the originator of the Project
-Gutenberg-tm concept of a library of electronic works that could be
-freely shared with anyone. For forty years, he produced and
-distributed Project Gutenberg-tm eBooks with only a loose network of
-volunteer support.
-
-Project Gutenberg-tm eBooks are often created from several printed
-editions, all of which are confirmed as not protected by copyright in
-the U.S. unless a copyright notice is included. Thus, we do not
-necessarily keep eBooks in compliance with any particular paper
-edition.
-
-Most people start at our Web site which has the main PG search
-facility: www.gutenberg.org
-
-This Web site includes information about Project Gutenberg-tm,
-including how to make donations to the Project Gutenberg Literary
-Archive Foundation, how to help produce our new eBooks, and how to
-subscribe to our email newsletter to hear about new eBooks.
-